Bradley Wiggins has been given a knighthood in the new years honours list following a sensational year for the British cyclist. In July Wiggins became the first Briton to win the Tour de France and ten days later won Olympic gold in the time trial.

Great Britain’s performance director and Team Sky boss Dave Brailsford was also knighted while Sarah Storey became a Dame and Victoria Pendleton was awarded a CBE.

In total, 14 honours were given to members of the British cycling team.

Speaking to the BBC Wiggins said; “I never ever imagined that I would ever become a knight, so it’s an incredible honour. But there’s a slight element of disbelief and it will take a while to sink in.”

“[The French] will love it,” he continued. “It will add to the myth. I will have to get a bowler hat as well. They are fascinated slightly with our Britishness, our culture and things like knighthoods, so it is a nice thing to have.”

The title is yet more recognition of Wiggins’s achievements, earlier in December he won the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year title ahead of heptathlete Jessica Ennis and tennis player Andy Murray, taking 30 per cent of the vote.

Brailsford said receiving the award felt slightly weird and that he was just one person in a team, all of whom deserve the recognition.

Storey becomes a Dame for her services to para-cycling. She won four Paralympic gold medals in London this year to add to her medal haul that stretches back to the Barcelona Paralympics in 1992 when she won two swimming golds.

In total she has 11 gold medals, a tally that brings her level with Baroness Tani Grey-Thompson. But Storey has 22 medals in total, making her Britain’s greatest paralympian.

Ben Ainslie was the only other Olympian to be knighted after London 2012.

Cyclists honoured in the new years honours list
Bradley Wiggins – Knighthood
David Brailsford – Knighthood
Sarah Storey – Dame
Victoria Pendleton – CBE
Jason Kenny – OBE
Laura Trott – OBE
Steven Burke – MBE
Mark Colbourne – MBE
Neil Fachie – MBE
Philip Hindes – MBE
Peter Kennaugh – MBE
Dani King – MBE
Craig MacLean – MBE
Joanna Rowsell – MBE

Related links
Wiggins named Cycling Weekly’s 2012 Rider of the Year
Wiggins’s pre Giro 2013 race schedule

  • David J Messenger

    An amazing 4 years… for all cyclists ! But OMG Paul Kimmage is now pointing a finger at Bradley Wiggins et al… see…. This is tragic…

  • Ken Evans

    The BC performance staff deserve the awards as much as the riders.

  • TG

    So I expect a Round Table will be on order for Team SKY Headquarters!!

  • Mick W

    Well deserved, particularly by Dave Brailsford, who has transformed Cycling in this Country…… and the World come to think about it !

  • Terry

    I think Vicky P was short changed given her track record since Athens.

  • William Hirst

    Wiggo deserves a knighthood but I do believe David Brailsford deserves one more. Also rans, laughing stock, whatever, when I first started being into this sport, Britain was just hopelessly bad at cycle racing on the world stage. Now we are world beaters.

  • stuart stanton

    So when do we get to read the whole story as to why Dame Sarah Storey didn’t get to ride in the Olympics? I have heard that her ‘numbers’ were superior to any of the other riders selected and that she was deemed to be ‘too strong’. Well come on BC -in this age of alleged transparency -, out with it. I bet she would have trounced the rider selected for the Road TT as well