Omega-Pharma look like early winners in the winter transfer market. We compare the 2011 teams before the season begins in a fortnight

Words by Cycle Sport staff

It’s exactly a fortnight until the international season of major races kicks off with the Tour Down Under. This time in two weeks, one team is going to be celebrating the first win of 2011.

We’ve done a little exercise in comparing the 2011 teams, to see how the personnel changes between them have affected their strength. We counted the wins for each team gained by all their riders during 2010 – for example Andre Greipel’s 21 wins were all transferred to Omega from HTC.

And we got the following table:

Team                         Wins       Actual wins 2010
1 Omega-Lotto           36            11 (18th)
2 HTC                          32            57 (1st)
3 Luxembourg            29            –
4 Rabobank                27            18 (8th)
5 Garmin                     25            22 (4th)
6 Vacansoleil              24            16 (10th)
7 Lampre                     23            19 (7th)
8 Liquigas                    22            38 (2nd)
9 Sky                            22            20 (5th)
10 Cofidis                    21            20 (6th)
11 Quick Step             21            15 (16th)
12 Saxo Bank              20            29 (3rd)
13 Ag2r                        19            17 (9th)
14 FDJ                         18            16 (13th)
15 RadioShack           18            12 (17th)
16 Euskaltel                 15            16 (11th)
17 Movistar                  14            10 (19th)
18 Astana                     12            16 (12th)
19 Geox                        12            5 (20th)
20 Europcar                  8            16 (14th)
21 Katusha                    8            15 (15th)
22 BMC                          7             4 (21th)

Remember Omega last year? Until Gilbert really started firing, and Adam Blythe got them a few late wins, they could hardly buy a victory. But of all the major teams in 2011, they have the most 2010 wins – 36, mainly thanks to Greipel.

HTC are still in second place, with 32. And considering Team Luxembourg are basically the strongest riders from Saxo Bank, it’s no surprise they carry across 29 wins.

Big gainers in the transfer market – Rabobank, who picked up Luis Leon Sanchez’s five wins, among others and Quick Step, who have gained Francesco Chicchi’s seven wins.

Of course, once 2011 has started, last year’s results count for nothing. But it will be interesting to see how the win totals at the end of the year compare with those we’ve come up with here.

  • claim insurance

    Hi. I wanted to drop you a quick note to express my thanks. I’ve been following your blog for a month or so and have picked up a ton of good information as well as enjoyed the way you’ve structured your site.