Race will take place between August 19 and September 10

The Vuelta a España route for 2017 will feature nine summit finishes, including the Alto de l’Angliru and a single, relatively short individual time trial.

Announced on Thursday evening the 2017 Vuelta a España which will start across the border in France on Saturday, August 19, and finish in the Spanish capital of Madrid three weeks later

>>> Vuelta a España organiser: We’d never create a course just for Chris Froome’

The first stage will be team time trial in Nîmes, before two road stages take the race across the south of France of Gruissan, then across the border to Andorra la Vella on a third stage that include two category one climbs.

Despite traversing the Pyrenees, the first uphill finish of the race does not come until stage five on Spain’s Mediterranean coast, with the 2km climb to Ermita Santa Lucia averaging almost 12 per cent.

Cumbre del Sol was last used in the race in 2015 when Tom Dumoulin took the victory (Watson)

Similar uphill tests await the riders on stages eight and nine, with the 3.8km, 11 per cent climb of Xorret de Cati, and the 3.6km, 10 per cent climb of Cumbre del Sol where Tom Dumoulin beat Chris Froome to take the red jersey in 2015.

Following a rest day on Monday, August 28, the race will spend a tough second week winding its way around southern Spain, with three more summit finishes at Calar Alto, La Pandera, and the brutal Sierra Nevada.

>>> Vuelta a España 2017: everything you need to know

This climb was last used in the race in 2015, however the 2017 Vuelta a España route will stop at the Sierra Nevada ski resort at a height of 2,490m above sea level, and will not continue to the Pico Veleta which boasts the highest paved road in Europe at 3,300m.

The riders will then be treated to a lengthy transfer to northern Spain on the second rest day, which will be immediately followed by the only individual time trial of the race on stage 16.

This will start on the Circuito de Navarra motor racing circuit, finishing after 42km in the nearby town of Logroño.

The Alto de l’Angliru is one of the hardest climbs in professional cycling (Watson)

Two more summit finishes follow on the next two days at Los Machucos and Santo Toribio, before the race is decided on the slopes of the Alto de l’Angliru on the penultimate stage.

This 12.2km climb averages 10.2 per cent and reaches 23.5 per cent and has been a popular, but controversial, stomping ground for the Vuelta a España over the last 15 years.

In 2002, riders and teams protested due to the conditions made worst by heavy rain. David Millar stopped ahead of the line and handed over his race number.

When the Vuelta last visited in 2013, it did so without a hitch. Frenchman Kenny Elissonde (FDJ) won and said, “It’s one of the hardest climbs in the mountains.”

The race will finish in Madrid on Sunday, September 10.

Chris Froome and Nairo Quintana on stage 20 of the 2016 Vuelta a Espana

With the race still months away, few riders have committed to the race, although Team Sky‘s Chris Froome has stated that it could be one of his aims, with the Brit having three times finished second in Madrid.

Nairo Quintana is the Vuelta a España defending champion, but is unlikely to return to the race in 2017, instead having his eye on both the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France.

Vuelta a España 2017 route

Stage one: Nîmes (France) (TTT), 13.8km

Stage two: Nîmes (France) – Gruissan (France), 201km

Stage three: Prades Conflent Canigó (France) – Andorra la Vella (Andorra), 158.5km

Stage four: Escaldes-Engordany (Andorra) – Tarragona (Spain), 193km

Stage five: Benicàssim – Alcossebre, 173.4km

Stage six: Villareal – Sagunt, 198km

Stage seven: Lliria – Cuenca, 205.2km

Stage eight: Hellín – Xorret de Cati, 184km

Stage nine: Orihuela – Cumbre del Sol, 176.3km

Rest Day

Stage 10: Caravaca Jubilar – Elpozo Alimentación, 171km

Stage 11: Lorca – Observatorio Astronómico de Calar Alto, 188km

Stage 12: Motril – Antequera, 161.4km

Stage 13: Coín – Tomares, 197km

Stage 14: Écija – Sierra de la Pandera, 185.5km

Stage 15: Alcalá la Real – Sierra Nevada, 127km

Rest Day

Stage 16: Circuito de Navarra – Logroño (ITT), 42km

Stage 17: Villadiego – Los Machucos, 180km

Stage 18: Suances – Santo Toribio de Liébana, 168.5km

Stage 19: Parque Natural de Redes – Gijón, 153km

Stage 20: Corvera de Asturias – Alto de l’Angliru, 119.2km

Stage 21: Arroyomolinos – Madrid, 101.9km

  1. 1. Vuelta a España 2017 route
  2. 2. Vuelta a España 2016 route
  3. 3. Vuelta a España 2015 route
Page 1 of 3 - Show Full List