Where: Netherlands and Belgium
When: August 7-13 2017
Rank: UCI WorldTour

The BinckBank Tour – formerly known as the Eneco Tour – is a WorldTour-level week-long race incorporating stages in both the Netherlands and Belgium.

Thanks to its undulating terrain, its short, steep hills and cobbled sections, the Eneco Tour already has the feel of the Spring Classic that spring forgot. As a result, it produces winners that wouldn’t usually be tipped for WorldTour stage races.

Niki Terpstra (Etixx-QuickStep) won the 2016 race overall after putting himself into the lead escape group in the finale of a rain-soaked final stage in Belgium.

Terpstra, Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimenion Data) and Oliver Naesen (IAM Cycling) had distanced the rest of the field in a race fractured by the cobbles and bergs of the tough stage from Bornem to Geraardsbergen.

Pre-stage race leader Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing) had looked to be in a commanding position going into the last day of the seven-stage race, but he crashed during the race, lost time and ultimately withdrew.

As Boasson Hagen attacked in the final kilometre to take the stage victory, Terpstra came home in second to seal the overall win.

Prior to Terpstra’s victory, the race was won consecutively in 2014 and 2015 by Belgian Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal). Previous winners include Zdenek Stybar, Lars Boom, Edvald Boasson Hagen and Tony Martin.

2016 Eneco Tour top 10
1. Niki Terpstra (Ned) Etixx-QuickStep in 22-43-26
2. Oliver Naesen (Bel) IAM Cycling at 31 secs
3. Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff at 1-00
4. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing at 1-02
5. Jos van Emden (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 1-03
6. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 1-11
7. Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx-QuickStep at 1-15
8. Ion Izaguirre (Esp) Movistar at 1-19
9. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Giant-Alpecin at 1-22
10. Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx-QuickStep at 1-31

Key info: Start list

Previous editions: 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007

Full list of riders taking part in the 2016 Eneco Tour in the Netherlands and Belgium over September 19-25