Where: Oman
When: February 14-19, 2017
Rank: UCI Asia Tour 2.HC

Ben Hermans (BMC Racing) emerged victorious from the 2017 Tour of Oman, after a commanding performance which saw him claim two stage wins including on the queen stage to Green Mountain.

Despite a host of top climbers including Fabio Aru (Astana), Rui Costa (UAE Abu Dhabi) and Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale), Hermans showed he has the form after out-climbing them all with emphatic confidence.

The battle of sprinters was also heavily one-sided, with Alexander Kristoff (Katusha-Alpecin) taking three wins from the race’s six stages.

The Middle Eastern races may have a reputation for being flat races through deserts, but the Tour of Oman is anything but that.

The 2017 Tour of Oman is one of the hilliest in the history race, with one bona fide mountain top finish, one hilltop finish, and two further stages with hard climbs close to the end of the race.

With a parcours such as that, it is no surprise that the list of winners of the Tour of Oman is a distinguished one, with Vincenzo Nibali a former champion and three-time Tour de France champion Chris Froome having twice emerged victorious.

The race is generally decided with the climb of Jebel Akhdar (more commonly known as the Green Mountain), which this year appears on stage four.

This 5.7km climb has a fearsome average gradient of 10.7 per cent, making it by far the hardest climb that any of the riders in the race would have faced by this point in the season.

Tour of Oman 2017: Stages

Stage one, February 14, Al Sawadi Beach to Naseem Park, 176.5km: Report
Stage two, February 15, Nakhal to Al Bustan, 145.5km: Report
Stage three, February 16, Sultan Qaboos University to Quriyat, 162km: Report
Stage four, February 17, Yiti (Al Sifah) to Ministry of Tourism, 118km: Report
Stage five, February 18, Samail to Jebel Akhdar (Green Mountain), 152.5km: Report
Stage six, February 19, The Wave to Matrah Corniche, 130.5km: Report

Tour of Oman 2017: Teams

Ag2r La Mondiale (France)
Astana (Kazakhstan)
Bahrain-Merida (Bahrain)
BMC Racing (USA)
Katusha-Alpecin (Switzerland)
Quick-Step Floors (Belgium)
Team Sunweb (Germany)
UAE Abu Dhabi (UAE)
Delko Marseille Provence KTM (France)
Nippo-Vini Fantini (Italy)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert (Belgium)
WB Veranclassic Aqua Project (Belgium)

Tour of Oman 2017: Recent winners

2017: Ben Hermans
2016: Vincenzo Nibali
2015: Rafael Valls
2014: Chris Froome
2013: Chris Froome
2012: Peter Velits
2011: Robert Gesink
2010: Fabian Cancellara

Key info: Start list | TV guide
Website: Tour of Oman

Watch highlights of the second stage of the 2017 Tour of Oman, as Ben Hermans proved the strongest and smartest in small bunch at the uphill finish.

Our guide to where you can watch a star-studded field, including Fabio Aru, Tom Boonen, and Romain Bardet, at the 2017 Tour of Oman (14-19 February).

Provisional start list of riders taking part in the 2017 Tour of Oman, with Romain Bardet, Tejay van Garderen, Fabio Aru, and Tom Boonen all expected.