Best ever field for Tour of Britain

Sky, Omega Pharma-Quick Step and Movistar headline the line-up for this year’s Tour of Britain, with race organiser SweetSpot today confirming a record 19 teams who will take part.

Sir Bradley Wiggins, Mark Cavendish, Nairo Quintana and Alex Dowsett are all scheduled to compete in the eight-day race, which begins in Peebles on September 15.

Garmin-Sharp and Cannondale return once again to complete the five-strong WorldTour contingent. 

The Swiss IAM Cycling team are one of five squads making their debut in the race, and Cycling Weekly understands they first contacted SweetSpot about riding the event at the start of the year.

All six of Britain’s UCI-registered domestic teams will compete, with Madison Genesis among those Tour debutants. Their DS, Roger Hammond, won two stages in the race during his career.

For the second year running, a Great Britain team comprising of younger riders has been selected. In total, 114 riders are expected to compete in the race. 

“This year’s Tour of Britain will have a world-class line-up bringing a number of international stars to race on British roads, while at the same time allowing our top domestic teams and a Great Britain squad to race on the biggest stage possible for them,” said Race Director Mick Bennett.

“The make-up of teams will provide another exciting and unpredictable Tour from a racing perspective, whether you are watching at the roadside or at home on the live television coverage.” 

This year’s race includes a 16-kilometre time trial around Knowsley Safari Park and a summit finish on Haytor in Devon.

Tour of Britain 2013: Teams
Omega Pharma-Quick Step
Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox
IAM Cycling
AN Post Chain Reaction
IG-Sigma Sport
Madison Genesis
Rapha Condor JLT
UK Youth
Great Britain

Related links

Tour of Britain to be shown on Eurosport in 2013

2013 Tour route revealed

Haytor summit finish for Tour of Britain

How the Tour of Britain route is designed