British cyclo-cross round-up

Top junior rider Hugo Robinson notched up his third victory in four races in the Eastern Cyclo-Cross League, beating senior rivals at Hillyfields near Colchester, Essex, on Sunday.

XRT-Elmy Cycles rider Robinson has secured outright victory in three of the four rounds he has ridden so far in the popular league, and looks set to challenge for the overall honours as well as the junior category.

>> Struggling to get to the shops? Try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

He crossed the line 20 seconds ahead of his nearest rival, last season’s league champion Andrew Nichols (Cambridge Univ CC), while Extreme Sports Therapy rider Shaun Aldous was just inches behind in third spot.

But Robinson is not the only junior rider who is mixing it well with senior rivals.

De Ver Cycles rider Taylor Johnstone won the fifth round of the London League at Herne Hill on Sunday, holding off a large field of 140 riders for the senior race to take the win by nine seconds.

But elsewhere in the country it is the veterans who are dominating.

Scott UK rider Nick Craig took victory in the Notts and Derbys League at Alfreton Park, pipping Coventry rider Dan Booth was just three seconds on Saturday.

And fellow vet Noel Clough, the Fietsen Tempo rider from Northallerton, secured a win in the fifth round of the Yorkshire Points Series at Huddersfield, a win which narrowed the gap between him and league leader Tim Baldwin to just one point.

Hetton Hawks rider Tony Fawcett won the North East League at Whickham Thorns Park near Gateshead, while Zepnat RT’s Jim Bryan – who was seventh in Saturday’s Notts and Derbys League race – secured victory in the Lincolnshire League race in Scunthorpe 24 hours later.

And Team Wiggle’s Lee Williams won the third round of the Welsh League at Penperlleni. He was 19 seconds faster than the winner of the first two races, Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon), while junior William Worrall, who has been second in the opening two races, had to settle for third this time.

Related links

Stybar wins Cyclo-Cross World Cup opener