British Riders of 2013: Number 20

Cycling Weekly is counting down the top 30 British Riders of the Year thoughout December. The top 10 will be revealed in the December 19 issue of Cycling Weekly magazine.


National time trial champion and team pursuit world record holder

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Joanna Rowsell started the season hoping to make strides forward on the road. In June she won the national time trial championship ahead of Lizzie Armitstead and took fourth place in the road race a few days later. The signs were encouraging. 

However, a crash at the Ride London criterium in August left her with a broken collarbone that needed surgery and put her winter track season in jeopardy.

The way she came back not just to full fitness but world-class form was impressive.

A month after her operation, she was back in action, needing to win qualification points at the Ghent international track meeting just to qualify for the World Cups. Victory in the individual pursuit there was followed by a world record-breaking return to the team pursuit squad at the European Championships in Apeldoorn.

At the Manchester World Cup she won both the team and individual pursuit competitions, the latter in a time only a couple of seconds off her personal best, which suggests a tilt at an individual world title next spring might be on.

British Riders of the Year 2013: Related links

Number 21: Adam Yates

Number 22: Geraint Thomas

Number 23: Lizzie Armitstead

Number 24: Jason Kenny

Number 25: Evan Oliphant

Number 26: Ian Stannard

Number 27: Kenta Gallagher

Number 28: Emily Kay

Number 29: Owain Doull

Number 30: Katie Colclough