Back to Cycling Weekly’s Riders of the Year advent calendar>>

Throughout December we will be revealing Cycling Weekly‘s top 50 British riders of the year.

We’ve now arrived at the upper reaches of our countdown of top 50 British riders. We’ll be revealing the top ten in Cycling Weekly December 25 issue.


If there is anyone who symbolises the progress made by British Cycling over the past decade, it is Paul Manning.

The quiet, often unheralded member of the team pursuit squad is professionalism personified, held up by many younger riders in the squad as the perfect example.

He?s been the one constant in the ever-changing, ever-progressing team pursuit picture over the past eight years or so.

Always there, always consistently reliable, he?s seen the line-up change around him and helped the times get quicker.

Think back to Sydney in 2000, Manning and Bradley Wiggins, Chris Newton and Bryan Steel topped the qualifying with a then-national record of 4-04. They experienced heart-break in the semi-finals, losing to Ukraine, despite recording a 4-02.

Four years later, Manning won a silver medal in the team pursuit in Athens, and although the British finally cracked the glass ceiling and won gold in the World Championships, Beijing was what really fired Manning.

And as the times got faster, Manning was still there. This year was to be his last as a rider. It was an open secret that Beijing would be his last competition.

What finer way to bow out than at the top?

Manchester in March set the scene. The Great Britain team broke the world record with a new time of 3-56.322 when they beat Denmark in the final.

In Beijing they lowered that still further, to 3-55.202, when catching Russia in round one.

The ride they produced in the final was truly breathtaking, one of the greatest sporting moments of the year.

Until that world record is broken, which may not be for another four years, it will always say Great Britain (Clancy, Manning, Thomas, Wiggins), 3-53.314.


December 18: No. 17 Sarah Storey

December 17: No. 18 Ross Edgar

December 16: No. 20 Chris Newton and 19 Wendy Houvenaghel

December 15: No. 22 Gee Atherton and 21 Rob Hayles

December 14: No. 24 Joanna Rowsell and 23 Simon Richardson

December 13: No. 26 Rachel Atherton and 25 Ben Swift

December 12: No. 28 Lizzie Armitstead and 27 Steven Burke

December 11: No. 30 Andrew Fenn and 29 Sharon Laws

December 10: No. 32 Peter Kennaugh and 31 Josh Bryceland

December 9: No. 34 Jody Cundy and 33 Liam Killeen

December 8: No. 36 David Millar and 35 Ian Stannard

December 7: No. 38 Daniel Fleeman and 37 Matt Crampton

December 6: No. 40 Jessica Allen and 39 Daniel Lloyd

December 5: No. 42 David Daniell and 41 Dean Downing

December 4: No. 44 Steve Peat and 43 Anna Blyth

December 3: No. 46 Jonny Bellis and 45 Jess Varnish

December 2: No. 48 Luke Rowe and 47 Michael Hutchinson

December 1: No. 50 Katie Colclough and 49 Chris Froome


Back to Cycling Weekly’s Riders of the Year advent calendar>>