Back to Cycling Weekly’s Riders of the Year advent calendar>>

Throughout December we will be revealing Cycling Weekly‘s top 50 British riders of the year.

We’ll be unveiling our top ten pick of British riders of 2008 in the December 25 issue of Cycling Weekly magazine.


Sarah Storey is another athlete who swapped sports, taking up cycling in time for the Beijing Paralympics. The former swimmer competed four times in the Paralympics as a swimmer, but having switched to cycling she immediately made an impression at the 2008 World Track Championships.

Controversy could have been on the cards after the qualifying round of the individual pursuit. Because several Paralympic categories were competing in the same event, athletes with more severe disabilities had their times ?factored?. It meant that Storey, a LC1-class athlete who rode a 3-40 in the qualifying round, only qualified second. American Jennifer Schuble, competing in the CP4 class rode a ?real time? 4-01, had her time ?factored? to 3-35.

In the final, though, Storey went even quicker. She recorded a time of 3-36.637, which was a new world record. Schuble?s ?factored? time was 3-36.867, so Storey won by just two-tenths of a second.

However, the real fact to focus on was that Storey?s time in that final would have been good enough to give her a place in the top eight of the Olympic Games competition.

Storey then went on to win the individual pursuit title at the National Championships, although admittedly in the absence of Rebecca Romero and Wendy Houvenaghel.

She also made a big impact at the National Circuit Race Championships in Horwich, finishing fourth, just outside the medals, on the day Joanna Rowsell won the title.

December 17: No. 18 Ross Edgar
December 16: No. 20 Chris Newton and 19 Wendy Houvenaghel
December 15: No. 22 Gee Atherton and 21 Rob Hayles
December 14: No. 24 Joanna Rowsell and 23 Simon Richardson
December 13: No. 26 Rachel Atherton and 25 Ben Swift
December 12: No. 28 Lizzie Armitstead and 27 Steven Burke
December 11: No. 30 Andrew Fenn and 29 Sharon Laws
December 10: No. 32 Peter Kennaugh and 31 Josh Bryceland
December 9: No. 34 Jody Cundy and 33 Liam Killeen
December 8: No. 36 David Millar and 35 Ian Stannard
December 7: No. 38 Daniel Fleeman and 37 Matt Crampton
December 6: No. 40 Jessica Allen and 39 Daniel Lloyd
December 5: No. 42 David Daniell and 41 Dean Downing
December 4: No. 44 Steve Peat and 43 Anna Blyth
December 3: No. 46 Jonny Bellis and 45 Jess Varnish
December 2: No. 48 Luke Rowe and 47 Michael Hutchinson
December 1: No. 50 Katie Colclough and 49 Chris Froome

Back to Cycling Weekly’s Riders of the Year advent calendar>>