The 2007 championships were scheduled to be held in Beverley, East Yorkshire, in the traditional slot on the last weekend of June.

However, torrential rain in the area forced the event to be cancelled. It wasn?t that the course itself was not badly affected and the race could, feasibly, have gone ahead. But the police could not send officers to watch over a cycling event while people?s houses were under water. Politically the race simply could not go on.

Instead the men’s race was held as part of the Robert Price Grand Prix of Wales in Abergavenny in Wales, while the women’s event took place in Saffron Walden, Essex.

1. David Millar (Saunier Duval)
2. Dan Lloyd (DFL-cyclingnews) same time
Gordon McCauley (Plowman Craven) at 1-27
3. Hamish Haynes (DFL-cyclingnews) at 1-30
4. Russell Downing (Health Net-Maxxis) at 2-25
5. Robin Sharman (KFS Special Vehicles)
6. Alex Coutts (Babes Only)
7. Alex Higham (Rapha-Condor)
8. Mark Lovatt (Sportscover)
9. Rob Partridge (
10. Marcin Bialoblocki (Middridge) all same time

NB Gordon McCauley finished third in the race but as a New Zealander was not eligible for the British national championship.

1. Nicole Cooke (Raleigh-Lifeforce) 70 miles in 3-44-39
2. Rachel Heal (Webcor Builders) at 59sec
3. Helen Wyman (Global RT)
4. Catherine Hare (Rapha Condor)
5. Nikki Harris (Global RT)
6. Emma Pooley (Specialized)
7. Elizabeth Armitstead (Global RT) all same time
8. Leanne Thompson (Lune RCC) at 8-37
9. Diane Moss (Luciano)
10. Alice Monger-Godfrey (Glendene) both same time

Picture Nicole Cooke in her national champion’s jersey.

The Big Preview: British National Championships 2008