Bradley Wiggins selected for Commonwealth Games

England track and road cycling line-up for 2014 Commonwealth Games announced

Bradley Wiggins is among 31 English cyclists selected to ride on the road and track at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow over July 23 to August 3.

Wiggins joins a host of Olympic champions in the line-up, which includes Laura Trott, Joanna Rowsell, Dani King, Ed Clancy, Steven Burke, Jason Kenny and Philip Hindes.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Notable is that Wiggins has been selected for the road disciplines, and not the track. Previously, Wiggins has said that he would like to return to the track for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio.

Lizzie Armitstead is part of a very strong women’s line-up, and she will ride on the track and road. The Olympic road race silver medallist will be joined by Emma Pooley, Lucy Garner, Hannah Barnes, Rowsell, Trott and King in the road disciplines.

England team for 2014 Commonwealth Games

Steven Burke (track endurance)
Ed Clancy (track endurance)
Matt Crampton (track sprint)
Stephen Cummings (road)
Jon Dibben (track endurance/road)
Alex Dowsett (road)
Kian Emadi (track sprint)
David Fletcher (mountain bike cross-country)
Philip Hindes (track sprint)
Jason Kenny (track sprint)
Tom Moses (road)
Paul Oldham (mountain bike cross-country)
Ian Stannard (road)
Andy Tennant (track endurance/road)
Scott Thwaites (road)
Sir Bradley Wiggins (road)

Lizzie Armitstead (track endurance/road)
Hannah Barnes (road)
Alice Barnes (mountain bike cross-country)
Beth Crumpton (mountain bike cross-country)
Lucy Garner (road)
Dannielle Khan (track sprint)
Dani King (track endurance/road)
Annie Last (mountain bike cross-country)
Emma Pooley (road)
Joanna Rowsell (track endurance/road)
Helen Scott Scott (track para-cycling pilot)
Sophie Thornhill (track para-cycling)
Laura Trott (track endurance/road)
Jess Varnish (track sprint)
Vicky Williamson (track sprint)