Fresh from recent home success in the Rochdale Circuit Race, the Rapha Condor/ squad headed to the GP Cycliste de Gemenc stage race in Hungary recently.

Starting on 10th July and running to the 12th, the race saw the Rapha boys up against some stiff competition, principally from the Hungarian Katay Cycling Team who won two stages and the overall.

The Rapha team fared well with Ben Greenwood taking second place in the short 2km prologue, only 2.1 seconds behind overall winner, Davide Torosantucci. Greenwood also looked strong taking a 4th place on the final stage, which saw a number of splits in the main bunch.

Rapha finished with two riders in the top ten, thanks to Greenwood in fourth and Kristian House in seventh, both of whom have been earmarked for the Tour of Britain this year, along with Rob Partridge and Dale Appleby. The results are certainly encouraging for the British squad and augur well for objectives later in the season, particularly the Tours of Ireland and Britain.

Prologue: Davide Torosantucci (Katay Cycling Team)

Stage one: Domenico Loria (Katay Cycling Team)

Stage two: Gasper Svab (SAVA)


1. Davide Torosantucci (Katay Cycling Team)

4. Ben Greenwood (Rapha) 0.09

7. Kristian House (Rapha) 0.21

48. Rob Partridge (Rapha) 3.21

50. Dale Appleby (Rapha) 3.59


Full-time builder and cyclist Ian Wilkinson?s season is going from strength to strength, when he took the Colne Town Centre GP on Wednesday evening.

Part of the elite circuit race series, it was the Lancashire-man?s third major victory on the road this year, after taking two stages of the Bikeline Two-Day.

Wilkinson, who combines road racing with mountain biking and cyclo-cross, was able to escape from a break with more than ten laps to go and solo to victory in his local town.

With big names such as continental pros Jeremy Hunt and Ian Stannard, along with Malcolm Elliott and Tom Southam, the pace was rapid from lap one with riders immediately being dropped from the back of the bunch.

A break soon formed, of which Wilkinson was a part, and it swiftly gained a large gap over the main field. Wilkinson could sense the bunch closing in and jumped away; he was quickly closed down, but managed to escape again soon after.

National circuit race champion James McCallum and Dean Downing tried to bridge the gap, but were unsuccessful and Wilkinson held on for the win.


1. Ian Wilkinson (Science in Sport/Trek)

2. Malcolm Elliott (Pinarello)

3. Russell Downing (Pinarello)

4. Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor/

5. Dave Collins (Science in Sport/Trek)


The organisers of the Nocturne series have scored another coup in ensuring the attendance of Olympic Kilo Champion, Chris Hoy.

Hoy is set to compete in the celebrity roller race competition, which is due to be one of the main attractions of the event. The evening will also feature an elite criterium race featuring top British professionals and some continental pros as well.

Then event takes place on Saturday 30th August and is free to the public.

More details can be found at:


The Tour of Britain organisers have announced that American squad Garmin-Chipotle H30 will compete in this year?s race, the fifth Tour de France team to sign up.

Amongst the provisional line-up is David Millar, who will come from the Tour de France to ride his home tour for the first time. Also mentioned on the line-up are Route du Sud winner Dan Martin, Paris-Roubaix winner Magnus Backstedt and sprinter, Julian Dean.

At the same time, ITV has also announced a new deal with Vsquared TV for the rights to broadcast the 2008 Tours of Ireland and Britain. A highlights programme will be broadcast every day throughout both Tours on ITV4, Men and Motors, and ITV mobile. Commentary will come from ITV?s Tour de France team Phil Liggett, Paul Sherwen and Ned Boulting and represents another step forward for both races.