Six British riders will start the Trofeo Laigueglia in Italy tomorrow. The 176-kilometre one-day race is a 1.1-ranked race on the UCI’s Europe Tour.

The six Brits in action are:
Jonathan Bellis (Saxo Bank)
Steve Cummings (Barloworld)
Chris Froome (Barloworld)
Ian Stannard (ISD)
Ben Swift (Katusha)
Charly Wegelius (Silence-Lotto)

Cummings was second in the race in 2006 behind the current world champion Alessandro Ballan.

The tough race takes in several hills on a couple of large circuits based on the coastal town of Laigueglia.

The town is on the route of Milan-San Remo, and heralds the start of the last run of capi, the small hills which pepper the final 60 kilometres.

Capo Mele, Capo Cervo and Capo Berta all feature in Milan-San Remo, but in the Trofeo Laigueglia they are among the smaller climbs. The biggest hill of the day is the Passo del Ginestro, which rises to 682 metres.

Last year Luca Paolini won. In 2007 it was Mikhail Ignatiev. Other recent winners include Ballan, Kim Kirchen (2005), Filippo Pozzato (2003, 2004) and Danilo Di Luca (2002).

Read more in our Trofeo Laigueglia preview in the News section>>

A trio of British riders are currently in Portugal for the Tour of the Algarve stage-race.

Garmin?s David Millar and Cervélo?s Roger Hammond and Jeremy Hunt are currently lying 67th, 29th and 73rd overall respectively.

The race concludes on Sunday.

An extra treat is in store for those making the trip to the Manchester velodrome for Revolution 24 this weekend, with the national Madison championships acting as the curtain-raiser for the evening?s entertainment.

A field of 16 teams has been confirmed for the race, with former world champion in the event, Rob Hayles, teaming up with up-and-coming rider, Peter Kennaugh.

Other names to look out for are Geraint Thomas who will ride with fellow Welshman Luke Rowe, whilst Olympic champions Steven Burke will partner Ed Clancy.

Alistiar Wood & Adrian Adgar
Chris Whorral & Daniel McLay
Alexander King & Peter Dibben
Chris Nicholson & Lewis Balyckyi
Jamie Rogers & Ben Dunn
Mark McNally & Rob Partridge
Simon Yates & Adam Yates
Sam Harrison & Jon Mould
Geraint Thomas & Luke Rowe
Erick Rowsell & Mark Christian
Alex Dowsett & Andy Fenn
Russel Hampton & Johnny McEvoy
Peter Kennuagh & Rob Hayles
George Atkins & Tim Kennaugh
Steven Burke & Ed Clancy
Alistair Rutherford & Adam Duggleby

The velodrome doors open at 5pm tomorrow evening with the Madison set to start at 5pm. The Revolution events are due to start at 7pm.

See for further details.

The British CandiTV-Pinarello squad will head to Singapore this weekend for the Singapore Professional Criterium on Sunday.

The squad will send a team of four riders: Malcolm Elliott, Russell Downing, Graham Briggs and Pete Williams.

You may have already noticed comprehensive database of rider profiles.

We are now in the process of compiling team profiles for each of the major UK teams.

Here are just a couple of examples:
Cycling Weekly British Team Profiles: Index