Chris Hopkinson was crowned ‘mileater’ of the year at the Audax UK Annual Reunion and Awards Ceremony after he clocked up an astounding 30,000 miles during 2006. Hopkinson, who completed the Race Across America as part of his unbeaten mileage count, was presented with his award by Eurosport commentator David Duffield at Brimington Hall, Chesterfield.

Other long-distance specialists honoured on the night included Peter Turnbull of Willesden CC won the overall points championship with a grand total of 24,500 km under his belt.

Judith Swallow of Central London’s CLICK team carried off the women’s trophy having built up 10,900 km last season.

Audax UK is the premier long-distance cyclist’s association in Britain, and boasts over 4,000 current members.

More information: www.audax.uk.net