Kevin Pauwels wins men’s Cyclo-Cross World Cup in Milton Keynes

Kevin Pauwels out-paces Klaas Vantornout to take win in Milton Keynes as Ian Field produces best ever World Cup result. Photos by Andy Jones

Upcoming events

World Cup leader Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games) won round three of the series in Milton Keynes on Saturday afternoon.

In a replication of the women’s race earlier in the day, the victory was hotly contested between two leading riders – in this case, Pauwels and Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Napoleon Games).

The pair were neck and neck around the final lap as the day’s sunshine started to fade and the muddy course became ever more sticky. Vantornout tried to accelerate away from Pauwels to the line, but Pauwels out-kicked him to take the win and extend his lead at the top of the World Cup leaderboard.

Frenchman Francis Mourey ( completed the podium positions in third place.

Ian Field (Hargroves) placed 12th, his highest ever result in a World Cup and a fitting result for Britain’s first hosting of a World Cup race.

Men’s Cyclo-Cross World Cup round three, Milton Keynes
1. Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games
2. Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games at 1 sec
3. Francis Mourey (Fra) at 16 secs
4. Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Development Team Giant-Shimano at 19 secs
5. Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus at 43 secs
6. Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet-Fidea at 58 secs
7. Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea at 1-00
8. Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink at 1-12
9. Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon-Kwadro at 1-32
10. Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace at 1-38
12. Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves

Ian Field, Cyclo-Cross World Cup, Milton KeynesIan Field produced his highest finish in a UCI World Cup

world-cup-cx-mk-2014-Mens-podium-4Men’s podium: Vantornout, Pauwels and Mourey