Team list announced for RideLondon-Surrey Classic road race

Eight WorldTour teams included in 25-squad line-up for 2014 RideLondon Classic road race on Sunday, August 10

WorldTour teams Belkin, BMC, Cannondale, Garmin-Sharp, Omega Pharma-QuickStep, Orica-GreenEdge, Giant-Shimano and Sky will all field teams at this year’s Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic road race on Sunday, August 10.

The eight top-level squads are among the list of 25 teams announced by the event organiser on Thursday, which also includes six Professional Continental, 10 Continental and one national (Great Britain) team.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

The riders will face a 200-kilometre route starting in Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, and then heading out towards the Surrey Hills before looping back into the capital to finish on The Mall.

“We have attracted a strong line-up and an excellent combination of teams, some of whom will be working towards a sprint finish while others will be looking to animate the race and ride aggressively,” said RideLondon-Surrey Classic race director Mick Bennett.

“This year’s route changes, with the double climb up to Ranmore Common, will favour a more aggressive strategy and mean the race is not certain to come back together as a bunch sprint on The Mall.”

“Following the Tour de France and Commonwealth Games, interest in cycling has never been higher, and the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic is another chance for fans to get close to the world’s top teams.”

The race will be broadcast live on BBC One.

Last year’s RideLondon-Surrey Classic was won by Frenchman Arnaud Demare of FDJ, who will not be riding this year.

Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic 2014 road race team list

UCI ProTeams (WorldTour)
Belkin Pro Cycling (NED)
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Cannondale Pro Cycling (ITA)
Garmin-Sharp (USA)
Omega Pharma – Quick-Step (BEL)
Orica GreenEdge (AUS)
Team Giant Shimano (NED)
Team Sky (GBR)

UCI Pro Continental Teams
Bretagne-Séché Environnement (FRA)
Colombia (COL)
MTN Qhubeka (RSA)
Team NetApp-Endura (GER)
Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise (BEL)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert (BEL)

UCI Continental Teams
AN Post Chain Reaction (IRL)
Madison Genesis (GBR)
NFTO Pro Cycling (GBR)
Node4 Velosure (GBR)
Rapha Condor JLT (GBR)
Synergy Baku Cycling Project (AZE)
Team 3M (BEL)
Team La Pomme Marseille 13 (FRA)
Team Raleigh (GBR)
Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace Continental Team (BEL)

National Team
Great Britain (GBR)

Arnaud Demare Ride London Surrey Classic 2013Arnaud Demare wins in 2013