Team Sky confirm Amstel Gold Race line-up

Sergio Henao and Michal Kwiatkowski headline a Sky line-up that offers experience and youth for Sunday's Amstel Gold Race

Team Sky have confirmed their roster for Sunday’s Amstel Gold Race (April 16) in the Netherlands.

Colombian Sergio Henao and Pole Michal Kwiatkowski – the winner in 2015 – headline the British WorldTour team’s eight-man squad.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Both riders have enjoyed success already this year, with Henao securing overall victory in Paris-Nice in March and Kwiatkowski arguably having his best spring campaign to date, with wins in Strade Bianche and Milan-San Remo.

Kwiatkowski and Henao were most recently in action in the Tour of the Basque Country over April 3-8, where Henao finished eighth overall behind winner Alejandro Valverde (Movistar).

Sergio Henao celebrates on the podium after winning Paris-Nice (Credit: Sunada)

The duo are joined by Henao’s cousin, Sebastian, and Kwaitkowski’s Polish compatriots Michal Golas and Łukasz Wiśniowski. The latter takes the place of Dutchman Wout Poels, who is absent due to lingering knee injury.

>>> Seven things to watch out for in the Ardennes Classics

Dutchman Danny van Poppel, and British riders Owain Doull and Tao Geoghegan Hart complete the line-up.

The Amstel Gold Race takes place over 264.6km and includes 35 climbs of varying difficulty. There’s a change of finale this year, with the final ascent of the usually decisive Cauberg controversially removed. This provides a flatter run-in to the finish, which could considerably alter the outcome of the race.

Last year, Italian Enrico Gasparotto (Wanty Groupe-Gobert) took the victory ahead of Michael Valgren (Tinkoff) and Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani-CSF). Colbrelli has already signalled his great form going into Amstel for new team Bahrain-Merida by winning De Brabantse Pijl on Wednesday.

The Amstel Gold Race is the first of three events in the Ardennes Classics, which all take place within the same week. La Flèche Wallonne takes place on Wednesday, April 19, with Liège-Bastogne-Liège on Sunday, April 23.