Team Wiggins confirms 2016 roster and unveils new jersey

Sir Bradley Wiggins unveils his team's new strip and the roster of 20 cyclists riding under the Team Wiggins name in 2016

Team Wiggins, the British squad created and owned by 2012 Tour de France champion and multiple Olympic medallist Sir Bradley Wiggins, has unveiled its 2016 roster of riders and a redesigned team kit.

Racing into its second season, Team Wiggins chose the Dubai Tour to unveil its new-look kit and confirm the line-up of its 20 riders. Sir Bradley and members of the squad are currently taking part in the race.

The UCI Continental-level team enjoyed success in its debut 2015 season, with the team appearing regularly in domestic races such as the Tour Series and Tour of Britain, as well as on the track in events such as the Revolution Series. Welshman Owain Doull finished the Tour of Britain in third place overall.

“The performance of the team last year exceeded all my expectations,” said Wiggins.

“We always get an incredible welcome from our fans and while my personal goal for this year remains a medal in Rio the wider objective is to continue to build Team Wiggins into the best development team for young riding talent in the country.”

>>> Bradley Wiggins on Dubai Tour: ‘Don’t expect too much from me!’

The squad currently includes the backbone of Great Britain’s track team pursuit squad as they head towards the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro in August. Sir Bradley, Doull, Andy Tennant, Steven Burke and Jon Dibben all ride for Team Wiggins, and have been joined by a host of up-and-coming talent, including Chris Latham and Scott Davies.

Team Wiggins 2016 clothing, designed by Rapha

Team Wiggins 2016 clothing, designed by Rapha

Rapha has tweaked the design of the squad’s distinctive dark red and navy blue strip. The name ‘Wiggins’ is now far more prominent in gold lettering on the chest, and a roundel design appears throughout, including a large version on the back.

The squad rides Pinarello road bikes, and is supported by Sky and Your Electrical Supplies Service & Solutions Ltd.

Watch: Owain Doull – show us your scars

Team Wiggins 2016 roster

Sir Bradley Wiggins, 35, Team owner
John Dibben, 21, Gold Team Pursuit European Track Champs (2015)
Andy Tennant, 28, Gold Team Pursuit European Track Champs (2015)
Steven Burke, 27, 2012 Gold Team Pursuit
Mark Christian, 25, Bronze UCI Track World Cup – Beijing (2011)
Dan Patten, 29, Winner 2014 SRS Pro 1/2 Knoxville Road
Owain Doull, 22, Gold Team Pursuit European Track Champs (2015)
Mike Thompson, 20, Bronze U23 British Cycling Nat Mountain Bike Champs (2015)
Liam Holohan, 27, Stage winner, An Post Ras (2014)
Sam Lowe, 22, Runner up for Stage Course de la Paix Juniors (2012)
Ashley Dennis, 20, 2016 New rider
Scott Davies, 20, 1st U23 National Time Trial Champ
Dan Pearson, 21, 2nd Coppa della Pace, Trofeo f.lli Anelli
Sam Harrison, 23, Silver Team Pursuit British National Track Champs
James Knox, 20, 2016 New rider
Philip Hindes, 23, Gold 2012 Team Sprint
Chris Latham, 21, Winner Beaumont Trophy (2015)
Michael O’Loughlin, 18, 2nd Trophee Centre Mornhan (2015)
Luc Hall, 20, Manchester Regional Track League Premier Division (2015)
Jake Kelly, 21, British Cycling Olympic Academy (2014)


Upcoming events