Giro Rosa 2021: everything you need to know

A very tough race route and highlights after every stage on Eurosport expected yet again at the 32nd Giro Rosa in 2021

(Image credit: Getty Images)

The Giro Rosa (July 2-11) has, for many years, been the longest stage race the women's peloton has to contend with. With that title lost due to the arrival of the 10-day Battle of the North, the organisers have pulled out all the stops to ensure an explosive race.

The race has been included within the UCI Women's World Tour calendar since its inaugural year in 2016, but the UCI have knocked the race down for it's 32nd year to the next division after the organisers failed to produce live images of the races, despite demand for them being high.

The organiser's insistence on ensuring the Giro Rosa's dates coincide with the Tour de France mean that in the past the race has been overlooked and incredibly hard to follow.

However, last year, following on from Trek bikes and Voxwomen collaboration to bring daily highlights in 2019, Eurosport will be showing highlights every evening - except in Italy where RAI holds the rights.

Giro Rosa 2021: stages

The route for 2021 has yet to be announced, but we will update this page as soon as it is.

Stage one, Friday July 2
Stage two, Saturday July 3
Stage three, Sunday July 4
Stage four, Monday July 5
Stage five, Tuesday July 6
Stage six, Wednesday July 7
Stage seven, Thursday July 8
Stage eight, Friday July 9
Stage nine, Saturday July 10
Stage ten, Sunday July 11

Giro Rosa 2021 likely contenders

Anna van der Breggen wins the 2020 Giro Rosa (Photo by Luc Claessen/Getty Images)
(Image credit: Getty Images)

The two-time winner Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar Team) was a force to be reckoned with at the start of last years race, winning one stage before crashing out and seeing the title go to Anna van der Breggen (Team SD Worx) who took the win by 1-14 over Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon-Sram)

Amanda Spratt (Team BikeExchange) is expected to be the main leader for the Aussie team now that Van Vleuten has joined Movistar.

Marianne Vos (Jumbo-Visma) is likely to ride and aim to add to her vast tally of 28 stage wins and three overall victories.

Indoor racing world champion Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Team SD Worx) will be hoping to add another string to the bow for the Dutch team in the battle for GC.

Canyon-Sram are likely to have Kasia Niewiadoma as their leader with the Polish rider hoping to go one better than last year and win the whole thing.

Giro Rosa 2021: route analysis

The organisers have yet to release the route for 2021.

Giro Rosa 2021 start list: teams and riders

The full start list has yet to be confirmed, but here is the list of riders down to ride...

Giro Rosa: Recent winners

2010: Mara Abbott (USA) Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty12

2011: Marianne Vos (NED) Nederland Bloeit

2012: Marianne Vos (NED) Rabobank Women Team

2013: Mara Abbott (USA) Exergy Twenty16

2014: Marianne Vos (NED) Rabobank-Liv Women Cycling Team

2015: Anna van der Breggen (NED) Rabobank-Liv Women Cycling Team

2016: Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team

2017: Anna van der Breggen (NED) Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team

2018: Annemiek van Vleuten (NED) Mitchelton-Scott

2019: Annemiek van Vleuten (NED) Mitchelton-Scott

2020: Anna van der Breggen (NED) Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team