Peter Sagan left frustrated by breakaway again at Tour of California as Bennett confirms victory

Evan Huffman (Rally Cycling) takes his second stage win of the race

Evan Huffman (Rally Cycling) took victory his second breakaway stage win of the 2017 Tour of California, as George Bennet (LottoNL-Jumbo) secured overall victory.

Huffman was part of a five-rider breakaway that went clear more than 40km into the short 125km stage from Mountain High to Pasadena.

>> Save up to 35% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

As Rafal Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe) tested the legs of Bennett on the slopes of the second category climb of Mount Emma Road, Huffman slipped clear with team-mate Rob Britton, David Lopez (Team Sky), Nicholas Edet (Cofidis), and Lachlan Morton (Dimension Data). They were later joined by Sepp Kuss, another Rally rider, after a long solo effort to bridge across.

With 30km to go the break began the long ascent to Pasadena with just a minute’s lead on the peloton, with Kuss and Britton working hard for their team leader.

Despite the sprinters teams started to mass on the front of the bunch, the break was able to succeed with Huffman holding off Lopez in the final sprint.

22 seconds behind Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) led the bunch home ahead of Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step Floors) while Bennett finished safely in the pack to secure overall victory.


Tour of California 2017, stage seven: Mountain High to Pasadena (125km)

1. Evan Huffman (USA) Rally Cycling, in 2-37-28
2. David Lopez (Spa) Team Sky
3. Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
4. Lachlan Morton (Aus) Dimension Data
5. Rob Britton (USA) Rally Cycling, all at same time
6. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 22 secs
7. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
8. John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo
9. Ben King (Can) Dimension Data
10. Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-Alpecin, all at same time

Final general classification

1 George Bennett (NZl) Team LottoNl-Jumbo, in 22-54-38
2 Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 35 secs 0:00:35
3 Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Drapac, at 36 secs
4 Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team, at 45 secs
5 Ian Boswell (USA) Team Sky, at 1-00
6 Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) Team UAE Emirates, at 1-54
7 Lachlan Morton (Aus) Dimension Data, at 1-55
8 Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Sky, at 2-12
9 Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb, at 2-15
10 Haimar Zubeldia (Esp) Trek-Segafredo, at 3-14