Team Sky announce squad for Amstel Gold Race

Michal Kwiatkowski will lead Team Sky at the Amstel Gold Race, with Peter Kennaugh and Ben Swift the British riders in the squad

Defending champion Michal Kwiatkowski will lead Team Sky at the first of the Ardennes Classics, the Amstel Gold Race, on Sunday.

The Pole triumphed over the likes of Alejandro Valverde, Michael Matthews and Philippe Gilbert in the 2015 edition and will be looking to win his second major one-day race for Team Sky.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

In March he won the E3 Harelbeke title, but couldn’t translate that into a top-10 place at the Tour of Flanders.

Kwiatkowski will be joined by fellow Pole Michal Golas as well as Dutch pair Wout Poels and Danny Van Poppel. There are also two Brits in the squad, with Peter Kennaugh and Ben Swift making the trip to the Netherlands.

Sergio Henao, second overall at last week’s Tour of the Basque Country, and 2015 Tour de Yorkshire winner Lars Petter Nordhaug round out the eight-man squad.

Team Sky squad for the Amstel Gold Race
Michal Kwiatkowski, Michal Golas, Sergio Henao, Lars Petter Nordhaug, Ben Swift, Peter Kennaugh, Danny Van Poppel, Wout Poels