World Championships 2017: Who are the bookies’ favourites for the win?

Defending champion Peter Sagan is the bookmakers' pick for the men's road race

Peter Sagan (Slovakia) is the bookmakers’ favourite to win the elite men’s road race at the 2017 UCI Road Cycling World Championships, which takes place Sunday, September 24, in Bergen, Norway.

Sagan goes into the race as defending champion – having already clinched the title in both 2015 and 2016. Given his recent form, where he won the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec on September 8, it is quite hard to see past the 27-year-old taking the win.

>> Struggling to get to the shops? Try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

Peter Sagan wins the 2017 GP Quebec. Photo: BORA-Hansgrohe / VeloImages

The majority of the leading bookmakers have named Sagan as favourite on the hilly course, with William Hill offering odds of 11/4 and Bet365 listing him at 5/2, according to Oddschecker.

>>> UCI Road World Championships 2017: Latest news, reports and race info

Norwegian rider Edvald Boasson Hagen is the home favourite, having shown solid form with a stage win at the Tour of Britain in the lead-up to the Worlds. William Hill have Boasson-Hagen at 7/1 with Bet 365 at 8/1 for the victory.

Two further riders who have enjoyed highly successful seasons and rank among the bookmakers’ favourite for the Worlds road race win are Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland) and Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium), who William Hill are offering odds of 7/1 and 10/1 respectively.

With Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands), who was regarded as the favourite, smashing the individual time trial will fellow favourite Sagan follow in his footsteps?

The 2017 UCI Road Cycling World Championships take place between September 17-24. For a full schedule of events and further race information visit our World Championships page.

Odds for the women’s events and team time trials were not available at time of publishing. Odds may be subject to change.

Elite men’s road race odds (winner – William Hill)
Peter Sagan 11/4
Edvald Boasson Hagen 7/1
Michal Kwiatkowski 7/1
Greg Van Avermaet 10/1
Fernando Gaviria 10/1
Michael Matthews 10/1
Matteo Trentin 12/1
Alexander Kristoff 20/1
Julian Alaphilippe 25/1
Elia Viviani 28/1