Giro d’Italia 2015

Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) took his seventh career Grand Tour win after sealing overall victory at the 98th edition of the Giro d’Italia.

The Spaniard took the leader’s pink jersey on stage five of the race and, aside from the time trial on stage 14, held the lead for the entirety of the race. Fabio Aru (Astana), who finished second overall, wore the maglia rosa for the TT after Contador and fellow GC rival Richie Porte (Team Sky) crashed shortly before the finish.

Porte eventually abandoned the race after losing so much time to the crash and a controversial incident involving Orica-GreenEdge’s Simon Clarke, for which both Australians were given a two-minute sanction.

When the race hit the mountains proper, there was seemingly no stopping Contador, as he put more time into his rivals on the Mortirolo and on the Monte Ologno. A resurgence from Aru and a consistent ride by his Astana teammate saw them finish second and third respectively when the race reached Milan, with four stage wins between them. But it wasn’t enough, and Contador held onto the lead until the end, despite suffering on the final mountain stage on the Colle delle Finestre.

The 2015 Giro win is the first part of Contador’s plan to become the eighth rider in history to complete the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France double.

The 2015 Giro route included six mountain finishes overall and a long 59.4-kilometre individual time trial, providing an ideal showcase for the overall contenders. For the sprinters, there were six flat stages to take the honours in bunch finishes, with Sky’s Elia Viviani, Orica-GreenEdge’s Michael Matthews and Lotto-Soudal’s André Greipel taking one apiece, while Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida) claimed two stages. Matthews and Greipel both withdrew from the race after stage 13 and the final flat stage to Milan was won by Iljo Keisse (Etixx – Quick-Step) in a surprise breakaway.

Key info: Route guide | Start list | Contenders | TV guide

Key riders: Rigoberto Uran | Alberto Contador | Richie Porte | Fabio Aru

Previous editions: Giro d’Italia 2014 | Giro d’Italia 2013 | Giro d’Italia 2012 | Giro d’Italia 2011 | Giro d’Italia 2010