Watch: Highlights from La Flèche Wallonne 2017

Who would walk away victorious from Huy after Flèche Wallonne?
Playlist 19 Videos Watch: Highlights from La Flèche Wallonne 2017 02:29 Watch: Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2017 highlights (video) 04:10 Watch Philippe Gilbert and Michal Kwiatkowski go head-to-head at Amstel Gold Race (video) 02:13 Watch: Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2016 highlights (video) 04:23 Watch: Highlights from women's Flèche Wallonne (video) 12:19 Watch: La Flèche Wallonne 2016 highlights 04:38 Your essential guide to the Ardennes Classics (video) 02:08 Watch: Taking on the toughest climbs of the Tour of Flanders 13:52 The Lead Out: April 2019 - Cobbled Classics preview 36:50 The Lead Out: March 2019 - Milan-San Remo preview 34:48 Watch: Tour of Oman 2019 stage two highlights 06:33 Watch: Tour Down Under 2019 stage six highlights 05:38 Watch: Tour Down Under 2019 stage five highlights 00:00 Watch: Tour Down Under 2019 stage two highlights 05:23 Watch: Tour Down Under 2019 stage one highlights 04:49 The Lead Out: January 2019 - Tour Down Under and season preview 25:30 Watch: The best bits of the 2018 Tour de France 07:54 Watch: Tour de France 2018 stage 21 highlights 03:53 Watch: 2018 Tour de France stage 20 highlights 04:18

If you had to pick two favourites for the 2017 editions of La Flèche Wallonne, then you couldn’t have not chosen Alejandro Valverde and Anna van der Breggen.

Valverde took victory in 2014, 2015 and 2016 (having taken his first victory in 2006), while Van der Breggen has dominated the women’s race in 2015 and 2016.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

But could they do it again?

The Belgian race is the midweek Classic that splits the three Ardennes Classics, with Amstel Gold Race last Sunday and Liège-Bastogne-Liège coming up this weekend.

The race normally comes down to a sprint up the steep Mur de Huy climb that the race has become famous for, though the course takes it on a total of three times in the men’s race and twice for the women.

In fact, some have called for a change to the course finish to stop such formulaic dominance by the likes of Valverde, but for 2017 the finish remained the same.

Valverde came up against the likes of Dan Martin (Quick-Step), Michal Kwiatkowski and Sergio Henao (Sky) and Michael Albasini (Orica-Scott), who were all vying to end the Spaniard’s run on the race.

Van der Breggen would need to beat the likes of Kasia Niewiadoma (WM3 Energie), Annemiek van Vleuten (Orica-Scott) as well as her own teammate Lizzie Deignan to take a third consecutive victory.