Reigning Tour de France champion Chris Froome put in a series of attacks during the final day of the Jayco Herald Sun Tour on Sunday that none could respond to.

The British Team Sky rider accelerated on each of the three ascents of the testing Arthurs Seat climb on stage four, and by the third time no-one had the legs to follow him.

Froome continued to take a solo victory on the stage, and with it the overall win.

>>> Chris Froome wins Herald Sun Tour with final stage victory

Sky celebrated a riders on the first and second steps of the podium, as former race leader Peter Kennaugh did just enough to hang on to runner-up spot ahead of Damien Howson (Orica-GreenEdge).

The day’s fast-paced action topped off five days of racing that have shown off the early-season race to its fullest.

>>> Five talking points from the Herald Sun Tour

It will have done no harm to have a rider of the calibre of Froome adding his name to a list of winners that stretches back to 1952, and that also includes fellow British riders Bradley Wiggins and Malcolm Elliott.