The first race of the season usually goes a little under the radar, but this year we have highlights of the People’s Choice Classic for you to feast your eyes on.

Caleb Ewan (Orica-GreenEdge) took his first win of the season in Adelaide, pipping Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) and Adam Blythe (Tinkoff) to the line in the hour-long race.

Ewan has made an impressive start to the season, winning the Mitchelton Bay Criterium series but failed to finish the National Championships road race, which he entered as a favourite.

Previous winners of the People’s Choice Classic have included Marcel Kittel (2014 & 2015), Andre Greipel (2008, 2012 & 2013) and Robbie McEwen (2006 & 2009).

The race is the traditional warm-up for the Tour Down Under, which starts on Tuesday, where Ewan will be among the favourites for stage wins.

Defending champion Rohan Dennis (BMC) will line up alongside new teammate Richie Porte, while Geraint Thomas will lead the general classification hunt for Team Sky.