Ben Anstie wins Welsh 10 mile champs

Time Trial news logo

Team Cycology Bikes rider Ben Anstie won the Welsh 10-mile Championships on Sunday, clocking 19-42 for the R10/17 course from Hardwick to Raglan, near Abergavenny.

The 36-year-old from Chippenham was just five seconds quicker than his nearest rival Rob Pears (Bath CC), while the next fastest was junior Scott Davies, an 18-year-old member of Liverpool Mercury RC, who clocked 19-48.

Despite showers across the country through most of the weekend, there were some fast times clocked as riders prepare for the RTTC National Circuit Championships in two weeks' time.

Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit) was a clear winner of the Cambridge CC 25 at Stetchworth on Saturday.

He covered the E33/25 course in 50-17 to win by more than three minutes from runner-up Trevor Burke (Finchley RT).

And in the North Notts Olympic 10-mile event at Long Bennington in Lincolnshire, Hutchinson's rival for the Circuit Championships Matt Bottrill ( was fastest by a minute.

He clocked 19-14 to leave James Perkins (Buzz Cycles) second, while Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) was third with 20-25.

Strategic Lions rider Keith Murray won the Hartlepool CC 10 at Sedgfield in County Durham, clocking 20-23 for the T105 course, 11 seconds quicker than second-placed Ben Hetherington (Dirtwheels).

At Hardwick in Cambridgeshire, Ross Clarke (TMG Horizon) won the Chronos Racing Team 10 with a time of 20-26, leaving Jon Surtees (Team Swift) second with 20-50.

And in Yorkshire, the Kiveton Park CC 25 at Hatfield Woodhouse turned into a ten-mile event because of roadworks. Mark Thaxter (Huddersfield Star Wheelers) was quickest with 21-04, and Robby Krygsman (Team Swift) second with 21-36.

But at least the Kiveton Park event survived: Yorkshire Velo had to cancel their event on the V718 in East Yorkshire because of roadworks, leaving almost 200 entrants who were in search of fast times disappointed.

In Shropshire, Paramount CRT's Josh Williams won the Wrekinsport CC 25 at High Ercall with 55-50, 13 seconds quicker than the promoting club's Steve York in second spot, while Manchester Wheelers' Jerry Cross was third with 56-27.

And in Hampshire, Rob Sharland (Kingston Wheelers) won the North Hampshire Road Club 25 at Bentley with 51-40, 28 seconds quicker than runner-up James Walsby (Catford CC) while former British Best All Rounder Richard Prebble (Node 4-Giordana) was third.

Team Swift's Alistair Wareham won the We3st Pennine RC 25 at Clitheroe in Lancashire. He clocked 54-58 to win by just six seconds from Jason Bateman (Pendle Forest CC).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Snowdon Sports is a long-established independent sports news agency, which supplies editorial to a range of media outlets - such as Cycling Weekly - as well as sports governing bodies. Snowdon Sports often covers results at Cycling Time Trials events in the UK and has long been a source of information and imagery to Cycling Weekly.