Tour de France

Tour de France coverage from Cycling Weekly, with up to date race results, rider profiles and news and reports.

Jonas Vingegaard is likely to attempt a third win at the Tour de France 2024
Jonas Vingegaard is likely to attempt a third win at the Tour de France 2024
(Image credit: ANNE-CHRISTINE POUJOULAT / Getty)

The Tour de France 2024 began on Saturday 29 June and marks the 111th edition of cycling's flagship race. In the first Grand Départ for Italy, the race started in Florence and traced a path east across the country, before heading back west towards France and into the Alps. 

The riders will also take on the Apennines, Massif Central and Pyrenees mountain ranges, and pass through Italy, San Marino, Monaco and France.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Date29 June 2024 - 21 July 2024
Total distance3,492 kilometres (2,170 miles)
Number of stages21
Start locationFlorence, Italy
Finish locationNice, France
UCI rankingWorldTour
Total climbing / elevation gain52,230 metres
Leader's jersey colourYellow (Maillot Jaune)
Last winnerJonas Vingegaard (Denmark)
TV coverage (UK)Eurosport, Discovery+
TV coverage (US)NBC Sports, Peacock
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Stage one29 JuneFlorence (Italy)Rimini (Italy)206km Hilly
Stage two30 JuneCesenatico (Italy)Bologne (Italy)200kmHilly
Stage three1 JulyPiacenza (Italy)Turin (Italy)229kmFlat
Stage four2 JulyPinerolo (Italy)Valloire (France)138kmMountains
Stage five3 JulySaint-Jean-de-MaurienneSaint-Vulbas177kmHilly
Stage six4 JulyMâconDijon163kmFlat
Stage seven5 JulyNuits-Saint-GeorgesGevrey-Chambertin25kmITT
Stage eight6 JulySemur-en-AuxoisColombey-les-Deux-Églises176kmFlat
Stage nine7 JulyTroyesTroyes199kmHilly/Gravel
Stage ten9 JulyOrléansSaint-Amand-Montrond187kmFlat
Stage 1110 JulyÉvaux-les-BainsLe Lioran211kmMedium mountains
Stage 1211 JulyAurillacVilleneuve-sur-Lot204kmFlat
Stage 1312 JulyAgenPau171kmFlat
Stage 1413 JulyPauSaint-Lary-Soulan Pla d'Adet152kmMountains
Stage 1514 JulyLoudenviellePlateau de Beille198kmMountains
Stage 1616 JulyGruissanNîmes187kmFlat
Stage 1717 JulySaint-Paul-Trois-ChâteauxSuperdévoluy178kmMountains
Stage 1818 JulyGapBarcelonnette179kmHilly
Stage 1919 JulyEmbrunIsola 2000145kmMountains
Stage 2020 July NiceCol de la Couillole133kmMountains
Stage 2121 JulyMonacoNice34kmITT