Vuelta a Espana

Vuelta a Espana coverage from Cycling Weekly, with up to date race results, rider profiles and news and reports.

The Vuelta a España 2024 promises a star studded start list
The Vuelta a España 2024 promises a star studded start list
(Image credit: Justin Setterfield / Getty)

The Vuelta a España 2024, the 79th edition of the race, will be the final Grand Tour of the season, with the race following the Giro d'Italia and Tour de France in the WorldTour calendar.

The 2024 race includes just one flat stage, and promises to pack in the climbing, with two short time trials bookending the race, which opens in Lisbon, Portugal on 17 August. 

Sepp Kuss, the American cyclist who won the general classification in 2023, has stated his aim to race again in 2024, pairing the Spanish stage race with the Tour de France. 

Here's all you need to know ahead of the last Grand Tour of the season. 

Vuelta a Espana 2023 stage 18, climbing to the Puerto de la Cruz de Linares

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Vuelta a España 2024: Overview

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Date17 August 2024 to 8 September 2024
Total distance3265km (2,029 miles)
Number of stages21
Start locationLisbon, Portugal
Finish locationMadrid, Spain
UCI Ranking WorldTour
Total climbingTBC
2023 winnerSepp Kuss (USA)
TV coverage (UK)Eurosport, Discovery+
TV coverage (US)Peacock

Vuelta a España 2024: The route

The Vuelta a España 2024 route brings the mountains to centre stage once again. The first stage in Lisbon and the last stage in Madrid will be short individual time trials. Between the two ITTs, there is only one day for the sprinters, which comes early in the race, on day five. 

Vuelta a España route 2024

Route map showing the 2024 stages for the Vuelta a España 2024 (Image credit: La Vuelta)

Vuelta a España 2024: Stage-by-stage

Swipe to scroll horizontally
StageDateStart locationFinish locationDistanceTerrain
One17 August 2024 LisboaOeiras12kmITT
Two18 August 2024 CascaisOurém191kmHilly
Three19 August 2024 LousãCastelo Branco182kmHilly
Four20 August 2024 PlasenciaPico Villuercas167kmMountain
Five21 August 2024 Fuente del MaestreSevilla170kmFlat
Six22 August 2024 Carrefour Jerez Sur. Jerez de la FronteraYunquera181kmMountain
Seven23 August 2024 ArchidonaCórdoba179kmHilly
Eight24 August 2024 ÚbedaCazorla159kmMedium mountains
Nine25 August 2024 MotrilGranada178kmMountain
Ten27 August 2024 PonteareasBaiona160kmMountain
1128 August 2024 Campus Tecnológico Cortizo. PadrónCampus Tecnológico Cortizo. Padrón164kmMedium mountains
1229 August 2024 Ourense TermalEstación de Montaña de Manzaneda133kmHilly
1330 August 2024 LugoPuerto de Ancares171kmMountain
1431 August 2024 Villafranca del BierzoVillablino199kmMedium mountains
151 September 2024 InfiestoValgrande-Pajares. Cuitu Negru142kmMountain
163 September 2024 LuancoLagos de Covadonga181kmMountain
174 September 2024Monumento Juan de Castillo. ArnueroSantander143kmMedium mountains
185 September 2024Vitoria-GasteizMaeztu-Parque Natural de Izki175kmMedium mountains
196 September 2024LogroñoAlto de Moncalvillo168kmHilly
207 September 2024VillarcayoPicón Blanco188kmMountain
218 September 2024MadridMadrid22kmITT

Vuelta a España: The jerseys

Jersey winners of the vuelta a españa 2023

Jersey winners of the Vuelta A España 2023  (Image credit: Getty Images)

The red jersey of the Vuelta's general classification leader is now well established (it was previously gold, but changed in 2010). The leader of the mountains classification wears a polka-dot jersey, but its large blue spots mean it's very different to the one that riders in the Tour de France wear. The points leader's green jersey is lime green, while the jersey for best young rider (born after 1 January 1998), is white – familiar from the Tour de France.

There are other awards on offer as well, including the teams classification and a daily combativity award. Embellished jersey numbers, rather than jerseys, are on offer for this.

Riders in the general classification in particular will be interested in the bonus seconds that are available throughout the race. There are 10, 6 and 4 seconds for finishing first, second and third on a stage, plus 3, 2 and 1 seconds at nine different intermediate sprints throughout the race and 10 separate bonus uphill sprints.

Vuelta a España 2024: The teams

Sepp Kuss celebrating with his Jumbo-Visma team after winning the vuelta a españa 2023

Sepp Kuss celebrating with his Jumbo-Visma team after winning the Vuelta A España 2023 (Image credit: Getty Images)

There will be 22 teams riding the 2024 Vuelta a España, including all 18 WorldTour teams and four second-tier ProTeams. Full details are yet to be confirmed.

Vuelta a España: Past winners

2013: Chris Horner (USA) RadioShack–Leopard
2014: Alberto Contador (Esp) Tinkoff–Saxo
2015: Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana
2016: Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
2017: Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky
2018: Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton–Scott
2019: Primož Roglič (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma
2020: Primož Roglič (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma
2021: Primož Roglič (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma
2022: Remco Evenepoel (Bel) Quick Step-Alpha Vinyl
2023: Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma