Dowsett and Daniell impress at opening Revolution

Alex Dowsett, Revolution 33, October 29 2011

Revolution 33 track meet photo gallery by Andy Jones>>

The first round of the 2011/12 Revolution track series took place on Saturday evening, October 29,

at the Manchester velodrome


Sky's Alex Dowsett opened proceedings with a win in the Revolution devil scratch race. Once riders had been eliminated, Dowsett charged off with seven laps to go and lapped the field. Rising star Sam Harrison came second.

In the Revolution sprint round one, Briton David Daniell had the edge on Louis Oliva, Kian Emadi beat Frenchman Thierry Jollet, World Champion Michael D'Almeida edged out Philip Hindes and Craig MacLean used his experience to beat John Paul.

When it came to round two, Daniell proved himself against Craig MacLean and Kian Emadi surprised the crowd by beating D'Almeida.

In the losers race of the Revolution sprint, Paul was victorious in the six-lap Dash, ahead of Thierry Jollet.

In the Revolution sprint final, Daniell continued his impressive form that sees him as one of Great Britain's most promising sprinters, beating fellow Brit Kian Emadi.

The unique Australian Pursuit event sees eight riders stationed at equal distances around the track. During the race, any rider who is caught by a rider starting behind is eliminated. This event of extreme endurance was won by Jens Mouris, ahead of Steven Burke and Dowsett.

In the DHL Future Stars competition, Emily Kay swept aside the competition to win the points race, six-lap dash and the scratch race. The boys races weren't quite so one-sided, with Scott Jacob (Chep UK) winning the scratch race, Oliver Wood (Chep UK) winning the six-lap dash and Ryan Whatmough (Sky) was victorious in the points race.

The points race was a platform for more domination from Sky, with Russell Downing accumulating 24 points and remaining strong throughout the evening. "I've still got it," he said after the event. He beat Adam Duggleby (15 pts) and David O'Loughlin (15 pts).

Sky's Dowsett and Downing looked like favourites ahead of the exciting Revolution Madison TT, but they could only manage third. It was the Howies team of Leif Lampater and Jon Mould who won in a convincing 58.980.

MacLean managed to overcome his earlier disappointment in the Sprint by winning the Keirin event in 10.932, over Louis Oliva and in-form Daniell.

The scratch race victory went to Harrison, who pipped Burke and Tom Murray. The 10km race was a fitting finale to the endurance side of the Revolution, but there was still an interesting sprint face-off to go.

Paul and Daniell took on D'Almeida and Jollet in a Great Britain vs France team sprint. It was close, but the French duo were victorious in 31.949 over Great Britain's 31.971.

In the Revolution Championships, strong performances from Harrison and Murray in the Elite races meant that Rouleur take the lead after the first round with 204 points, with Team UK Youth in second with 190 points. Sky take third with 165 points.

Kay (Cunga Bikes) leads the DHL Future Stars Girls competition with 90 points and Olly Wood (Chep UK) leads the DHL Future Stars Boys competition with 50 points.

The hour-long highlights of Revolution 33 will be shown on digital channel ITV4 on Monday October 31 at 7pm.

Alex Dowsett in action

Another packed velodrome for Revolution

Girl's points race

Emily Kay dominated the DHL Future Stars girls' events

David Daniell beats Craig MacLean

Related links

Revolution 33 photo gallery by Andy Jones>>

Revolution 33 preview

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1