Alejandro Valverde wins again at Ruta del Sol

Alejandro Valverde on his way to winning Stage 1 of the 2014 Ruta del Sol
(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Alejandro Valverde won stage one of the Ruta del Sol today to consolidate his overall lead after claiming yesterday’s prologue.

Valverde was well protected by his Movistar teammates on the 2.4km climb to the finish with Jon Izagirre executing a well-time lead-out in the final run. Bauke Mollema (Belkin) was just off the pace for second with the 42 year old Davide Rebellin (CCC) rounding out the podium.

Britain’s Peter Kennaugh and Geraint Thomas dug deep inside the last 10km working for Sky teammate Richie Porte, who could not match the speed of the diminished front group and placed fourth.

An 11-man break including Beñat Txoperena (Euskadi), Christo Venter (MTN-Qhubeka), Bartlomiej Matysiak (CCC), Jesus Ezquerra (ActiveJet), Stephane Poulhies (Cofidis), Tom Van Asbroeck (Topsport Vlaanderen-Balsoide), Lluís Guillermo Mas (Caja Rural-Seguros), Alexis Guerin (Etixx), Lennard Hofstede (Rabobank Development), David Lozano (Novo Nordisk) and Nico Sijmens (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) escaped some 10km into the 186km stage, which the winner covered in just over five hours.

The escapees were allowed a healthy advantage throughout but the real show began some 50km from the finish when Sky and Movistar started to mobilise at the front of the main group.

Unsuccessful attacks then came thick and fast inside the final 30km and the race leaders were all done with 10km remaining, after which Sky started driving on the front of the main group.

A series of climbs to Jaen saw only some eight riders contest the finish with Thomas peeling off inside the last 2km.

The tour continues tomorrow with a 182km run from Sanlucar La Mayor to Sevilla.

Ruta del Sol 2014, stage one: Velez Malaga to Jaen, 186km

1. Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Movistar 5-08-57

2. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin at 4 secs

3. Davide Rebellin (Ita) CC Polsat Polkowice

4. Richie Porte (Aus) Sky

5. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros

6. Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis at 11 secs

7. Daniel Navarro (Spa) Cofidis at 12 secs

8. Ruben Plaza Molina (Spa) Movistar at 15 secs

9. Thomas Degand (Bel) Wanty Groupe Gobert at 16 secs

10. Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana at 17 secs

Overall classification after stage one

1. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar 5-17-19

2. Richie Porte (Aus) Sky at 19 secs

3. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros at 21 secs

4. Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Trek at 37 secs

5. Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana at 38 secs

Peter Kennaugh, Geraint Thomas and Richie Porte at full throttle on the final climb of Stage 1 of the 2014 Ruta del Sol

Peter Kennaugh, Geraint Thomas and Richie Porte at full throttle on the final climb of Stage 1 of the 2014 Ruta del Sol

Valverde gets better of Wiggins and Sky in Ruta del Sol

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.