GB team sprint 2008

The British trio of Jamie Staff, Ross Edgar and Chris Hoy finished second in the team sprint in Manchester tonight to win the home nations second medal of the opening day.

The three were beaten by a rampaging French team of Gregory Bauge, Kevin Sireau and Arnaud Tournant who set a new worlds best of 43.271 seconds.

The Staff, Edgar and Hoy set a time of 43.777 seconds, the fastest ever by a British team, but had to concede to the French.

The win is France?s fourth in five years and fifth since the race was first contested in Bogota, Columbia in 1995. France dominated the team sprint in the World Cup series this winter and it was little surprise when they ran out winners here tonight.

Swipe to scroll horizontally

Chris Hoy has won a world championship medal in the team sprint every year since 1999.

Hoy's collection of team sprint medals from the world championships now stands at two golds, five silvers and three bronze.

MacLean has ridden in eight of the ten British medal-winning teams, Jason Queally in four, Jamie Staff in six, and Ross Edgar has made two appearances.

1999 Berlin: Silver (MacLean, Queally, Hoy) Winners France

2000 Manchester: Silver (MacLean, Queally, Hoy Winners France

2001 Antwerp: Bronze (MacLean, Queally, Hoy) Winners France

2002 Copenhagen: Gold (MacLean, Staff, Hoy)

2003 Stuttgart: Bronze (MacLean, Staff, Hoy) Winners Germany

2004 Melbourne: Bronze (MacLean, Staff, Hoy) Winners France

2005 Los Angeles: Gold (Staff, Queally, Hoy)

2006 Bordeaux: Silver (MacLean, Staff, Hoy) Winners France

2007 Majorca: Silver (Edgar, Hoy, MacLean) Winners France

2008 Manchester: Silver (Staff, Edgar, Hoy) Winners France

More reaction on tomorrow.


World Track 2008: All the results from Manchester

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1