The British entry for the final round of the World Cup in Copenhagen has been finalised and there are a couple of surprises.

After hinting that the Danish event would see the debut of the women?s team pursuit squad ahead of the World Championships, it is now clear we?ll have to wait until Manchester at the end of March to see the British trio?s competitive debut.

The job of securing qualification for individual pursuit at the Beijing Olympics is paramount so Rebecca Romero will line up for Great Britain with Wendy Houvenaghel racing for Science in Sport as they bid to win as many World Cup and UCI ranking points they can.

But because they are racing for different squads it means they can?t team up.

Shanaze Reade and Victoria Pendleton are both entered for Science In Sport, hinting that they may have a crack at the women?s team sprint ? although the priority for Pendleton is the sprint so a decision will be made nearer the time.

In the crucial race for a Madison place there will again be two teams. Jonny Bellis and Peter Kennaugh will race for Team 100% ME, with Rob Hayles and Geraint Thomas riding for Great Britain.

Britain are up to 11th in the UCI?s national Madison rankings after the LA World Cup but it is still very tight. The top 13 are guaranteed a place in Beijing. Kennaugh is now Britain?s third highest-scoring rider and another good result would be a huge boost.

Steven Burke is the new name in the Great Britain team and he is set to get a ride in the team pursuit.

The rules are flexible so the detailed event-by-event line-ups don?t have to be confirmed until the eve of the Copenhagen event, which runs from February 15 to 17.

PICTURE: Wendy Houvenaghel will ride the individual pursuit for SIS in Copenhagen ? but we’ll have to wait until Manchester to see a team pursuit trio in action.


Men?s endurance
Paul Manning
Rob Hayles
Chris Newton
Geraint Thomas
Ed Clancy
Steven Burke
Men?s sprinters
Chris Hoy
Jamie Staff
Craig MacLean
Women?s endurance
Rebecca Romero
Women?s sprinters
Anna Blyth


Men?s sprinters
Matt Crampton
Ross Edgar
Jason Kenny
Jason Queally
Women?s endurance
Wendy Houvenaghel
Women?s sprinters
Victoria Pendleton
Shanaze Reade

TEAM 100% ME

Men?s endurance
Jonny Bellis
Peter Kennaugh

CW’s Dummies Guide to Track Racing