Hutchinson makes it four at National 100 TT

Michael Hutchinson (winner)

It has been four years since Michael Hutchinson went down in history as the only rider to win four major national time trial titles in the same year – but on Sunday he did it again.

The In Gear-Quickvit RT rider completed the quartet of titles when he scored a convincing victory in the 100-mile race in North Yorkshire on Sunday, to add to the 10, 25 and 50-mile championships he has already secured this season.

Hutchinson toppled reigning 100 champion Kevin Dawson by virtually six minutes over the course at Dishforth after edging steadily ahead in the first 50 miles and nailing home his advantage between 50 and 75 miles, where his lead over Sportscover rider Dawson almost doubled.

The history books will also have to be changed for the women, with Julia Shaw (UTAG also securing a fourth title on Sunday, adding to the 10, 25 and 50-mile titles she has already secured in 2009.

Her time on Sunday of 3-52-12 broke the 13-year-old competition record, but it also made her only the second woman ever to hold four major time trialling titles in the same year, with Jill Reames being the first in 2000.

Hutchinson clocked 3-27-26 on Sunday to beat Dawson into second over the course which used the A168 and A19 from Dishforth to Osmotherly.

While Hutchinson and Dawson turned in impressive performances, there was also much admiration for 20-year-old Philip Graves, the York-based triathlete who has dominated the Rudy Project Time Trial Series this season.

Clifton CC rider Graves has only been time trialling for around a year, but he took third spot to complete the podium with a time of 3-37-41 and beat many established riders.

National 100-Mile Championship (Topcliffe, Yorkshire).-

1 Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit RT) 3-27-26

2 Kevin Dawson (Sportscover) 3-33-25

3 Philip Graves (Clifton CC) 3-37-41

4 Andy Bason (Wrekinsport CC) 3-38-06

5 Keith Murray (Westbrook Cycles) 3-42-30

6 Joel Wainman (Team Swift) 3-43-38

7 Dean Lubin (PCA Ciclos Uno) 3-45-36

8 James Hawkins (Cambridge University CC) 3-45-37

9 Richard Prebble (Candi TV-Marshalls Pasta RT) 3-45-59

10 Stephen Whitewick (UTAG Yamaha RT) 3-48-45

Team.- Team Swift (Joel Wainman, Brian Walker 3-56-00, Simon Beldon 3-56-54) 11-36-32.


1 Julia Shaw (UTAG Yamaha) 3-52-12 (competition record)

2 Ruth Eyles (Beacon RCC) 4-04-01

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.