Laura Trott leads omnium after two events at London Track World Cup

Jon Dibben well-placed in omnium; Jason Kenny makes round two of the keirin.

Laura Trott in omnium pursuit, Manchester Track World Cup 2013, day three

Laura Trott remains on course for her third omnium clean sweep in the Lee Valley Velodrome this year as she amassed a perfect score in this afternoon's two events at the Track World Cup in London.

Trott, who took victory in the team pursuit last night, has already won both omniums at the two Revolution Series meetings in the capital with a flawless record.

And in today's session, she edged out Kirsten Wild in a photo-finish in the opening round, the 10km scratch race, and then pipped the Dutch rider in an absorbing three-kilometre individual pursuit heat.

Jon Dibben impressed as he gained a lap en route to third in the omnium opener, the 15km scratch, and placed sixth in the pursuit despite being caught by winner Fernado Gaviria Rendon. He sits third overall going into tonight's events.

Jess Varnish and Vicky Williamson both qualified for the first knock-out round of the women's sprints, and Varnish got through the first knock-out round without problem before losing to Tianshi Zhong in the quarters. She failed to progress to the next round after losing her repechage.

Jason Kenny finished fourth in his keirin qualifying heat, and only progressed to round two after winning his repechage heat, in which he beat world champion Francois Pervis.

Track World Cup London, day two, day session
Women's Sprint qualifying
1. Elis Ligtlee (Ned) 10.833

2. Tianshi Zhong (Chn) 10.941

3. Shuang Guo (Chn) 10.942

4. Anna Meares (Aus) Jayco-AIS 11.021

5. Wai Sze Lee (HKG) 11.049


11. Jess Varnish (GBr) 11.119

12. Vicky Williamson (GBr) 11.245

Women's Sprint 1/16 finals
Elis Ligtlee (Ned) beat Fatehah Mustapa

Tianshi Zhong (Chn) beat Simona Krupeckaite (Ltu)

Shuang Guo (Chn) beat Tania Calvo Barbero (Esp)

Anna Mears (Aus) beat Monique Sullivan (Can)

Wai Sze Lee (Hkg) beat Stephanie McKenzie (Nzl)

Anastasiia Voinova (Rus) beat Victoria Tyumneva (Rus)

Stephanie Morton (Aus) beat Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez (Cub) *DQ

Kristina Vogel (Ger) beat Jinjie Gong (Chn)

Miriam Welte (Ger) beat Olivia Montauban (Fra)

Lin Junhong (Chn) beat Virginie Cueff (Fra)

Jess Varnish (GBr) beat Olgga Streltsova (Rus)

Olga Ismayilova (Aze) beat Vicky Williamson (GBr)

Women's Sprint 1/8 finals
Elis Ligtlee (Ned) beat Olga Ismayilova (Aze)

Tianshi Zhong (Chn) beat Jess Varnish (Gbr)

Shuang Guo (Chn) Lin Junhong (Sly)

Anna Mears (Jay) beat Miriam Welte (Ger)

Kristina Vogel (Ger) beat Wai Sze Lee (Hkg)

Anastasila Voinova (Rus) beat Stephanie Morton (Jay)

Miriam Welte (Ger) and Wai Sze Lee (Gbr) qualified via the two repechage races.

Women's Sprint quarter finals
Elis Ligtlee (Ned) beat Wai Sze Lee (Hkg) 2-0

Tiansahi Zhong (Chn) beat Miriam Welte (Ger) 2-0

Anastasila Voinova (Rus) beat  Shuang Guo (Chn) 2-1

Kristina Vogel (Ger) beat Anna Mears (Jay) 2-0

Women's Omnium round one: 10km scratch

1. Laura Trott (GBr)

2. Kirsten Wild (Ned)

3. Amalie Dideriksen (Den)

4. Annalisa Cucinotta (Ita)

5. Isabella King (Aus)

Women's Omnium round two: 3km individual pursuit

1. Laura Trott (Gbr) 3-36.896

2. Kirsten Wild (Ned) 3-37.107

3. Jennifer Valente (USA) 3-37.417

4. Marlies Mejias Garica (Cub) 3-38.619

5. Isabella King (Aus) 3-38.718

Men's Omnium round one: 15km scratch
1. Bobby Lea (USA)

2. King Lok Cheung (Hkg)
3. Jon Dibben (GBr)
4. Fernando Gaviria Rendon (Col) -1 lap
5. Thomas Boudat (Euc) -1 lap

Men's Omnium round two: 4km individual pursuit

1. Fernado Gaviria Rendon (Col) 4-21.998

2. Bobby Lea (USA) 4-26.082

3. Gideoni Monteiro (Bra) 4-27.782

4. Roger Kluge (Ger) 4-29.638

5. Aaron Gate 4-29.953.


Jon Dibben (Gbr) 4-30.617

Men's Keirin first round
Heat one

1. Nikita Shurshin (Rus)

Heat two

1. Steffan Botticher (Ger)

Heat three

1.Fernando Puerta Zapata (Col)

Heat four

1. Azizulhansi Awang (Mas)

Heat five

1. Christos Volikakis (Gre)

Heat six

1. Krzysztof Maksel (Pol)

Francesco Ceci (Ita), Edward Dawkins (Nzl), Yuta Wakimto (Jpc), Jason Kenny (Gbr), Matthew Baranowski (USA) and Kazunari Watanabe (Jpn) qualified via the repechage heats.


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1