Motorpoint seals 2010 Tour Series win

Motorpoint win overall, Tour Series 2010 round 10 Woking

In the closing round of this year's Tour Series, Dean Windsor (Rapha-Condor-Sharp) soloed away from a ten-up break for victory in sunny Woking. Behind, Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta had the manpower and cohesion to beat Endura on the night and clinch the overall title.

On the winding Woking circuit, the race was effectively decided inside the opening ten minutes, as an escape containing the top three teams slipped away from the rest of the bunch.

Of the big hitters, Rapha-Condor-Sharp and, significantly, competition leaders Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta, with Elliott, Tennant and Bibby, had a three-to-two advantage over rivals Endura.

The group also contained Jefte de Bruin ( and Simon Gaywood (Corley Cycles).

In the chasing bunch, Endura men Jack Bauer and Rob Hayles were both very active as they tried to launch themselves across the gap to even things up, but in the cat-and-mouse atmosphere, a Motorpoint rider was rarely far away.

With a Tour Series bunch looking increasingly weary from the cumulative rigours of intense travel and racing this month, the gap steadily grew until it bordered on a minute at the finish.

In the denouement up front, a late attack from Rapha's Matt Cronshaw was reprised before Australian teammate Dean Windsor struck out alone to take a lone victory. His teammates finished highly in the sprint behind to ensure John Herety's men would go out on top with victory on the night.

"I was brought into the team as a criterium specialist, so it's nice to be able to take a win," said Windsor.

Behind, Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta had done enough to seal the Tour Series title and banish the memories of last year's near miss - though that didn't stop them from winning the bunch sprint for good measure.

"I wouldn't say it went to plan, but the cards all fell our way tonight. It was a nice situation to be in when we saw that we outnumbered Endura, but it wasn't an easy ride even then," said Malcolm Elliott (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta) at the finish.

Highlights of Tour Series round 10 will be shown on ITV4 on Friday (June 25) evening at 5.30pm.  


Tour Series 2010, round 10, Woking


1. Rapha-Condor-Sharp

2. Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta

3. Endura Racing


5. Team Raleigh

6. Team Corley Cycles

7. Sigma Sport-Specialized


9. Pendragon Le Col Colnago

Individual riders

1. Dean Windsor (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)

2. Malcolm Elliott (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta)

3. Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing)

4. Scott Thwaites (Endura Racing)

5. Kristian House (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)

Tour Series - final standings

1. Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta 88 points

2. Endura Racing 85

3. Rapha-Condor-Sharp 83

4. Sigma Sport-Specialized 57

5. Team Raleigh55

6. Pendragon Le Col Colnago 54

7. 46

8. Team Corley Cycles 38

9. 32

10. Team Ireland 8

Boardman Bikes Sprints Competition Results

1. Jefte De Bruin ( 15 points

2. Kristian House (Rapha-Condor-Sharp) 11

3. Andy Tennant (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta) 7

Boardman Bikes Sprints Competition Final Standings (after ten rounds)

1. Graham Briggs (Rapha-Condor-Sharp) 55 points

2. Kristian House (Rapha-Condor-Sharp) 54

3. Liam Holohan (Team Raleigh) 41

Rapha Condor Sharp win last round, Tour Series 2010 round 10 Woking

Rapha Condor Sharp win on the night

Dean Windsor wins, Tour Series 2010 round 10 Woking

Dean Windsor takes the individual win

Jefte De Bruin wins Boardman sprints in final round, Tour Series 2010 round 10 Woking

Jefte De Bruin took the Boardman sprint win in Woking

Motorpoint win overall, Tour Series 2010 round 10 Woking

Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta win overall

Graham Briggs wins Boardman Bikes sprint competition, Tour Series 2010 round 10 Woking

Graham Briggs wins the Boardman Sprint competition overall

Related links

British Race Calendar 2010: includes links to all previous 2010 Tour Series rounds

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1