Partridge flies to Ryedale Grand Prix victory

Rob Partridge wins, Ryedale Grand Prix 2010

Endura rider Rob Partridge has won the 2010 Ryedale Grand Prix.

The Welshman outgunned breakaway companions Darren Lapthorne (Rapha-Condor-Sharp) and Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport-Specialized) on the drag up to the finish in Duncombe Park to claim his first Premier Calendar race win.

"I'm really happy; I thought 'gamble everything in the sprint' and it worked out perfectly," a shivering Partridge told Cycling Weekly.

The trio escaped with 30 miles to go in the Premier Calendar event, which was run under a day-long downpour.

After several early efforts were reeled in, the first significant breakaway of the day comprised Phill Sykes (Sigma Sport-Specialized), Mike Cuming (Team Raleigh) and James Moss (Endura Racing).

The trio enjoyed a couple of laps of freedom before being reprised. Kristian House and Robin Sharman were next to escape, pulling out a lead of almost two minutes before the rain-soaked peloton reeled them back in.

As the unremittingly wet weather and an unyielding pace cut the bunch down to size - only 20 riders finished together in the bunch - Sybrandy, Lapthorne and Partridge got the right formula and made good their lead.

"They were both strong riders, I was a bit concerned really," Partridge revealed at the finish.

The three were still together on the final drag up to the finish line at Baroque-style Duncombe Park, before 24-year-old Partridge struck out hard and early to claim a Premier Calendar win after several past near misses.

Andy Tennant (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta) led in the bunch for fourth place, while Chris Newton slightly extended his Premier Calendar lead in sixth, sandwiched between closest rivals Wilkinson and Bauer.


Ryedale Grand Prix / Pete Longbottom Memorial, Duncombe Park, Helmsley

1. Rob Partridge (Endura Racing) 112 miles in 4-27-49

2. Darren Lapthorne (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)

3. Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport-Specialized) both same time

4. Andy Tennant (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta) at 1-27

5. Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing)

6. Chris Newton (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)

7. Jack Bauer (Endura Racing) at 1-30

8. Alexandre Blain (Endura Racing) at 1-32

9. Simon Richardson (Sigma Sport-Specialized)

10. Steve Lampier (Pendragon-Le Col-Colnago) all same time

Ryedale Grand Prix 2010

Wet conditions greeted the riders

Early Break, Ryedale Grand Prix 2010

Early breakaway of Sykes, Cuming and Moss

Rob Partridge wins, Ryedale Grand Prix 2010

Rob Partridge wins

Ian Wilkinson and Rob Partridge, Ryedale Grand Prix 2010

Ian Wilkinson (l) congratulates Rob Partridge on his win

Related links

Hutchinson blasts to National 25 win

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.