British news logo

Here are the full results from last night's BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

1st Chris Hoy (cycling) 283,630

2nd Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1) 163,864

3rd Rebecca Adlington (swimming) 145,924

4th Ben Ainslie (sailing) 35,472

5th Joe Calzaghe (boxing) 34,077

6th Andy Murray (tennis) 19,415

7th Nicole Cooke (cycling) 18,256

8th Christine Ohuruogu (athletics) 7,677

9th Bradley Wiggins (cycling) 5,633

10th Rebecca Romero (cycling) 4,526

Total votes cast: 718,474

Results by percentage of vote

1st Chris Hoy (cycling) 39.5%

2nd Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1) 22.8%

3rd Rebecca Adlington (swimming) 20.3%

4th Ben Ainslie (sailing) 4.9%

5th Joe Calzaghe (boxing) 4.7%

6th Andy Murray (tennis) 2.7%

7th Nicole Cooke (cycling) 2.5%

8th Christine Ohuruogu (athletics) 1%

9th Bradley Wiggins (cycling) 0.8%

10th Rebecca Romero (cycling) 0.6%


Hoy wins BBC Sports Personality of the Year

GB cyclists and Brailsford win BBC awards

2008 Sports Personality of the Year awards photo gallery

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.