Team GB unveil Manchester World Cup squad

Team GB men's pursuit

British Cycling have unveiled the 19 riders who will be competing in the opening round of the Track World Cup (October 30-November 1) in Manchester.

Chris Hoy, Victoria Pendleton and Jamie Staff spearhead a star-studded sprint lineup racing in Team Sky+HD colours.

Meanwhile, Team GB can boast a host of Olympic medallists in Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Wendy Houvenaghel, Jason Kenny, Chris Newton and Geraint Thomas.

Lizzie Armitstead, a Track World Cup star last year, also makes the switch from road to track here at Manchester.

British Cycling has chosen to blood several young talents. Double junior world champion Becky James makes her senior debut on the boards, while David Daniell and Peter Mitchell - junior world championship medallists in previous years - are also competing in Manchester.

Team Sky+HD

Ross Edgar

Chris Hoy

Peter Mitchell

Victoria Pendleton

Jamie Staff

Team GB

Lizzie Armitstead

Steven Burke

Ed Clancy

Matt Crampton

David Daniell

Wendy Houvenaghel

Rebecca James

Jason Kenny

Chris Newton

Joanna Rowsell

Ben Swift

Andy Tennant

Geraint Thomas

Jess Varnish

Related link

Olympic stars ready for national championships

External link

Official site for the track World Cup

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1