Laura Trott beats Dani King to take National Pursuit title as Jody Cundy sets new world record

Laura Trott, British national track championships 2013

Double Olympic champion Laura Trott collected her first gold of the 2013 British National Track Championships yesterday evening with victory in the women's individual pursuit.

The Wiggle-Honda rider eased to the win over team-mate Dani King by more than seven seconds and a time of 3-34.973 at the Manchester Velodrome.

Katie Archibald (City of Edinburgh RC) completed the podium places for the three-kilometre race.

Trott told British Cycling: "I saw my coach walking Dani and I was just thinking ‘am I up or am I down?' and when I saw I was up I just thought ‘thank goodness for that'."

Ed Clancy (Rapha Condor JLT) continued his good form this week with gold in the points race, his second of the championships.

Wednesday's individual pursuit champion finished strongly to end on 59 points, just two clear and Sam Harrison (100 ME%) and eight of third placed Jake Ragan (Wheelbase Altura).

"It was quite a negative race to begin with," said Clancy. "Everyone was just waiting for the second half and I just went with a couple of soft moves and just went away.

"I really died off with the last seven laps to go, it was me and George [Atkins] out the back and we were just fighting to try and get the lap. George just kept looking back at me to see if I could come through but he just kept digging and we got it, it was quite fun really."

Clancy didn't have it all his way last night though as Kian Emadi successfully defended his men's kilo title, edging the Rapha rider into second place with a time of 1-01.702.

The event also saw Paralympian Jody Cundy set a new para-cycling world record in his category with a time of 1-05.029 as he finished eighth overall.

Sophie Thornhill (Sportcity Velo) and pilot Helen Scott (Performance Cycle Coaching) took gold in the BVI male and female para-cycling 200m flying start time trial, their second win in as many days.

Neil Fachie (Ythan CC) and Peter Mithcell (Performance Cycle Coaching) took silver whilst Aileen McGlynn and Lauryn Therin (Champion System) finished with a bronze.

The was gold for Crystal Lane (Scott Contessa Epic) in the C1-5 category of the same discipline, whilst Mazyar Ossamisaeed and Jaco van Gass took silver and bronze respectively.

Laura Trott wins the individual pursuit

Ed Clancy wins points race

Kilo king Kian Emadi

Jody Cundy

Crystal Lane

Related links

Varninsh, Clancy, Butterworth win on first day of National Track Championships

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1