Lewis Atkins wins John Walker Trophy Road Race

News logo

Pedal Heaven RT rider Lewis Atkins notched up a win in the John Walker Trophy Road Race near Bracknell in Berkshire on Sunday, holding off Colton Jarisch (Felt-Colbornes) and Matt Jones (IG Sigma Sport) in a sprint finish from a 24-strong leading break.

Elsewhere, Wilson's Wheels rider Dave Shackleton, 32 and from Hull in East Yorkshire, proved victorious in the elite race at Airedale Olympic's Day at Dishforth Airfield on Saturday.

But with separate races for all categories of rider including women, there was a bumper turnout of riders at the North Yorkshire venue.

In Kent, Alex Paton (Team GWB) secured victory in round 21 of the South East League Summer Series, holding off 17-year-old rival Josh Parkin (Aprire Bicycles) at the Cyclopark near Gravesend.

And in the John Walker Trophy near Bracknell in Berkshire, Matt Cronshaw (IG Sigma Sport) took the win at the end of a tough 92-mile Jef Schils Memorial Road Race on the Marks Tey circuit near Colchester.

North of the border, Premier Calendar Series winner Evan Oliphant (Team Raleigh) added the Scottish Circuit Championship title to his palmares with victory in Saturday's race near Edinburgh.

And in Falkirk, Craig Wallace was first over the line in the ‘For The Shirt' Trophy event at Slamannan, helping Granite City Racing Team take the overall team prize too.

With 14 of Scotland's strongest teams in action, it proved a great race, with Granite City just holding off GJS/Cruise Racing for the win.

Elsewhere, Mike Coyle (Brighton Mitre CC) won the first round of the Apres September Sessions at the Preston Park track, Patrick Martin (WyndyMilla) taking second.

And Graham South (Paramount CRT) won the Tour of the Wrekin based near Worfield in Shropshire, who crested the finishing climb ahead of Gloucester City CC rival Sean Townsend in second.

St Ives CC rider Luke Hattersley won round seven of the Pedalpushers Circuit League in Lincoln, beating Forme Bikes rider Oliver Maxwell for the win, with Carl Dyson (Clay Cross RT) third.

In cyclo-cross, the first of the winter leagues began on Sunday, with events taking place in Bradford and Bodmin.

First blood in the Yorkshire Points Series went to former GB U23 mountain bike champion David Fletcher, who led a one-two for the Orange Monkey Pro Team with junior Billy Harding taking second spot.

While Fletcher cruised to a solo victory, Harding was made to work hard and just held off Ian Taylor (Jedi Cycle Sport) for second in the race at Home Farm, Tong.

And in the opening round of the South West League, victory went to another MTB ace, Dexter Hurlock, who was involved in a long battle with 53-year-old Hargroves Cycles veteran Steve Davies, the reigning over-50s champion.

Related links

British time trial round-up

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1