Motorpoint team set to continue into 2011

Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta team 2010

The Motorpoint squad will continue for next season, with both men's and women's teams.

The news ends a week of doubt over the squad's future, which was in serious doubt. However, last Friday, its existence was secured, with Yellow Ltd. owner Phil Griffiths continuing to back the team.

The Tour Series-winning team will keenly feel the loss of Olympic hopefuls Tennant and Clancy, who have gone to Rapha-Condor-Sharp.

"It was sudden, and obviously a massive hiccup; you don't take Olympic stars leaving lightly," said team manager Keith Lambert. "But onwards and upwards, we're trying to get reorganised and move on."

It is expected that the likes of Ian Bibby, Jonny McEvoy, Malcolm Elliott, Steven Burke will all ride in the team's distinctive orange-and-black colours in 2011.

"Considering the enthusiasm of Motorpoint, managing director Gary Warren and youngsters like Ian Bibby and Jonny McEvoy, it would have been unfair to pull the pin," said team owner Phil Griffiths.

Furthermore, primary sponsor Motorpoint have also increased their sponsorship in the team.

The team's line-up for next year will be announced in the coming week.

Related links

Clancy and Tennant join Rapha-Condor-Sharp

Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta's future hangs in the balance

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly: The perfect Christmas gift>> 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1