Coyle wins national 24-hour time trial

Time Trial news logo

The longest event on the time trial calendar, the National 24-hour Championship, was won by Ultan Coyle (Rapha Condor CC) who covered a provisional 488.99 miles for victory in the Mersey Roads CC promotion in Cheshire.

Coyle, who added 22 miles to his distance in last year's Mersey Roads event when he finished second, took the title ahead of Stuart Birnie (Willesden CC), 480.72 miles, and Ishmael Burdeau (GS Gazzetta), 472.33.

Lynne Taylor (Born To Bike) covered 438.13 miles to take the women's championship for third time.

Alex Dowsett (Sky Pro Cycling) defied a rising headwind on the return leg from the Buckden roundabout to win Verulam CC's invitation 25 in 47-31 and shave 22 seconds from his own record for the Tempsford, Bedfordshire, course.

Matt Bottrill ( had to settle for second place in Sunday's event in 49-33 ahead of Andy Wilkinson (Port Sunlight Wheelers), 51-17.

Wilkinson was racing after a superb victory in Shaftesbury CC's 50 the previous afternoon when near-perfect conditions on the Six Mile Bottom course, in Cambridgeshire, produced a competition team record.

Wilkinson covered the A11, A14-based course in 1-36-37 to win from Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC), 1-38-06, and Scott Povey (, 1-38-54, with the team record falling to the Team Pedal Revolution trio of Andy Bason, Nik Bowdler and Mark Arnold.

Conditions were excellent for the Western DC 25 at Ashton Keynes, in Wiltshire, where Jeff Jones ( posted a winning 48-45 ahead of Rob Pears (Bath CC), 49-23, and John Wynn (Northover VT), 49-46. Fourth-placed Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT), 49-49, also broke the 50-minute barrier.

Simon Bridge (Manchester Wheelers) led the way in Warrington RC's 25 on Saturday, clocking 51-55 on the Goostrey, Cheshire, course to win from Simon Rushton (Phoenix CC), 53-59, and Declan Byrne (Cycle Premier-Kovert), 54-39.

Keith Murray (Mountain High Cycles) clocked a record 52-06 for the two-lap Topcliffe course to win the VTTA Yorkshire 25 on Sunday. Andy Fuller (GS Metro) finished second in 50-26 with third place going to Mark Wolstenholme (Team Swift) in 53-05.

Lee Tunnicliffe (High Wycombe CC) switched back from the road to win the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 10 at Hatfield Woodhouse, recording 20-52 to beat Alastair Wareham (Team Swift) by 20 seconds with Dave Isherwood (Team Swift), 21-55, in third.

Ultan Coyle starts

Lynne Taylor

Dadswell and Bloom

Related links

Time trial news section


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1