Hutchinson wins Rudy Project round in Suffolk

Michael Hutchinson, British Time Trial Championships 2011

The series winner five times in the past, Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit RT) secured victory in the second round of the 2012 Rudy Project National Time Trial Series at Haverhill in Suffolk on Easter Sunday.

Hutchinson first won the series in 1999 and most recently seven years ago in 2005, and this time he won by exactly a minute over the 20-mile course, clocking 41-44 to push Jeff Jones ( into second spot, while James Coleman (Witham Wheelers) was a further 51 seconds off the pace.

Multiple national time trial champion Julia Shaw ( has also won the women's series five times and she competed in the women's event on Sunday, but she couldn't overhaul round one winner Rebecca Slack (London Dynamo) whose time of 49-17 was 38 seconds quicker.

Jones warmed up for the National Series event by riding the City RC Hull 10-mile event on Saturday, the second time this season the infamous V718 course at South Cave has been used - and it did not disappoint, despite cold temperatures.

Jones won the event with an impressive 18-09, while three other riders went under the 19-minute mark, with Julian Ramsbottom (Scunthorpe Poly CC) and Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) tying for second spot with 18-47, while Rob Pears (Bath CC) had to settle for fourth with 18-50.

Elsewhere, Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC) recorded a fast 10-mile time in his own club's Lesley Cole Memorial on the Marlow bypass in Buckinghamshire. Topham clocked 19-38 to win by 40 seonds from Justyn Cannon (RAF CC).

Also coming home in under 20 minutes was Stephen Whitewick (Contre La Montre) who won the a3crg Good Friday 10 with 19-58, 22 seconds quicker than his team-mate Martyn Edwards in second spot.

And Topham clocked another sub-20 time in the Oxford City RC 120 on Saturday, this time going a second slower on the Witney bypass in Oxfordshire with 19-39. He won by 12 seconds from Nicholas Hutchings (CS Grupetto).

In County Durham, John Tuckett led a one-two for the team in the Stockton Wheelers sporting 23-mile event at Bishopton.

He clocked 51-41 to beat team-mate Jon Sturman by 22 seconds, while Paul Thirling (Westbrook Cycles) completed the podium with 52-50.

Expected challenger Keith Murray (Ferryhill Wheelers) had to settle for fourth spot after falling off on a slippery corner at around ten miles.

In the Warwickshire Road Club 28-mile event at Cookhill, former national hill-climb champion Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles) won with 1:00:56, more than a minute and a half quicker than his nearest rival James Gilfillan (Contre La Montre).

And reigning Rudy Project Series champion Matt Bottrill ( clocked 1-26-34 to win the Buxton CC mountain TT over a 33-mile course which took in the snowy pass of Longnor in Derbyshire.

His time was 47 seconds quicker han Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT), while reigning hill-climb champion Gunnar Gronlund (RST Racing Team) was third, another minute off the pace.

Related links

Handley wins Circuit of the Dales TT

Time trial news section

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1