Matt Bottrill wins 2013 RTTC time trial series

Matt Bottrill, second, National 10-mile time trial 2013

Prolific time trial winner Matt Bottrill ( secured overall victory in the RTTC National Time Trial Series when he took a convincing victory in the final round in Northamptonshire on Saturday.

Bottrill was fastest by almost three minutes over the 28.7-mile course at Middleton, slicing 2-50 off Stuart Dangerfield's old course record with a time of 58-29 which proved to be his 28th win of the season.

Having won three rounds of the eight-race series already, Bottrill knew that he had to win the final round to secure the overall title. And he did it in style, leaving Josh Teasdale (In Gear-Quickvit) second with 1-01-20.

And in the women's 18.7-mile race, Julia Shaw ( won with a time of 44-02, 58sec quicker than Rebecca Slack (Look Mum No Hands).

Elsewhere, the re-arranged Ogmore Valley Wheelers 25-mile time trial in Wales attracted some quality riders in search of fast times, and they didn't disappoint.

National champ Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit RT) won the event with a time of 47-17, while Bynea CC's Keiron Davies did well to take second with 48-08. Jon Wynn (Northover VT) was third with 49-26.

And in the Manchester Wheelers 50-mile event at Blythe Bridge, Staffordshire, High Wycombe CC rider Adam Topham made sure of victory in the British Best All-Rounder competition when he improved his qualifying 50-mile time by 1-26.

He clocked 1-39-50 on Sunday, winning by around 1-17 from Team Swift's Joel Wainman.

In hill-climbing, Team Raleigh professional Graham Briggs took a narrow victory in the Stocksbridge CC event, which was using the Pea Royd Lane climb which staged the 2009 National Championships - and will do so again in 2014, albeit on a longer course.

Briggs covered the 1,000 yards in 2-32.4 to win by just 1-3sec from Buxton CC's Lee Baldwin, while former national champion and course record holder Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles) took third, another three seconds off the pace.

Veteran Pete Tadros (In Gear-Quickvit RT) won the Reading CC event on Streatley Hill in Berkshire.

He covered the 837-yard climb in 2-26.6 to win by six seconds from Mike Broadwith (Arctic SRAM), while Chris Baines (Buxton CC0 was another 2-4sec off in third.

And Ben Davis (Bristol Road Club) won the Mid-Devon CC climb of Haytor at Bovey Tracey in Devon, clocking 8-01 for a shortened version of the 3.125-mile climb which was shrouded in heavy rain following a large electric storm.

Charles Coleman and Tavis Walker (both VC Walcot) took second and third respectively with 8-07 and 8-08.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Snowdon Sports is a long-established independent sports news agency, which supplies editorial to a range of media outlets - such as Cycling Weekly - as well as sports governing bodies. Snowdon Sports often covers results at Cycling Time Trials events in the UK and has long been a source of information and imagery to Cycling Weekly.