Matt Bottrill wins time trial Circuit Championship title

Time Trial news logo

National 50-mile champion Matt Bottrill ( added the RTTC Circuit Championship to his list of 2013 victories when he secured victory in the 33.5-mile title race near Bovington in Dorset on Saturday.

Bottrill, who had to settle for second spot behind Michael Hutchinson in the National 10 and was also runner-up in the National 25 (behind Joe Perrett), took victory by 50 seconds in Dorset.

He clocked 1-01-58 for the three-lap course, leaving In Gear-Quickvit duo Michael Hutchinson and Josh Teasdale second and third, 50 sec and 3-31 behind respectively.

In the women's race, pre-race favourite Julia Shaw ( took victory over two laps, covering the 22.5 miles in 47-14 to win by almost two minutes, while Joe Evans (Hargroves Cycles) was best junior, the 16-year-old clocking 44-36.

In Derbyshire, victory in the season's first hill climb went to prolific winner Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT) who broke the course record in the Glossop Kinder Velo event on the Snake Pass.

He clocked 11-36.6 for the 3.2-mile climb from Glossop towards Sheffield, which was good enough for victory by around 11 seconds from Team Raleigh professional Graham Briggs.

In East Yorkshire Hope Factory Racing rider James Gullen beat his own course record in the Scarborough Paragon CC 10 at Grinsdale near Bridlington on Saturday.

Gullen clocked exactly 21 minutes to win the event by a comfortable 38 seconds from Team Swift's Alistair Wareham, while another Team Swift rider, Mark Wolstenholme was third with 22-23.

In Surrey, Wouter Sybrandy (IG-Sigma Sport) clocked 20-20 to win the Addiscombe CC 10 at North Holmwood by just three seconds from Peter Tadros (In Gear-Quickvit), while Steve Kane (Brighton Excelsior) completed a tight podium in third, another seven seconds off the pace.

Strategic Lions rider Keith Murray continued his great recent form with an 18th win of the season - and his ninth consecutive victory, when he won the Northumbria Police CC 10 at Cramlington in 20-28.

That win came 24 hours after he had also won the Tyneside Vagabonds CC 10 at Ponteland with 21-33, almost a minute quicker than his nearest rival Ian Taylor (

And in Berkshire, Andy Stuart (VC St Raphael) covered the H10/1 course in 21-15 to win the Reading CC 10 at Aldermaston by just four seconds from Arctic-SRAM rider Danny Axford.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1