Albasini wins Vuelta stage 13 as Wiggins hangs on to lead

Michael Albasini wins, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 13

Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 13 photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

Last year's Tour of Britain winner Michael Albasini (HTC-Highroad) won the 13th stage of the 2011 Vuelta a Espana in Ponferrada on Friday.

After being involved in attacks close to the finish, the Swiss rider still found the strength to take the victory at the head of a 19 strong lead group ahead of fellow breakaways Eros Capecci (Liquigas) and Daniel Moreno (Katusha). Ireland's Nicholas Roche (Ag2r) took fifth.

Despite a brief mid-stage scare, Bradley Wiggins (Sky) maintained his position in the race leader's red jersey - just. Nibali grabbed the six second time bonus on the first intermediate

sprint to move up to second place overall, just four seconds behind

Wiggins. Wiggins' British team-mate Chris Froome drops to third.

Wiggins had been distanced by an attack that included overall challengers Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas), Fredrik Kessiakoff (Astana), Jakob Fuglsang (Leopard-Trek) and Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) on the descent of the first category Puerto de Ancares.

With the gap stretching to a maximum of 27 seconds, a concerted chase by Sky brought the break back to heel at the bottom of the final climb - the third cat Puerto de Lumeras.

Jan Bakelandts (Omega-Pharma Lotto) also ran into trouble on the streets of Ponferrada. Having been in the lead group with 2km to go, he limped in on his own after colliding with a traffic island.

There's no rest for the overall contenders, as on Saturday they face two tough categorised climbs in quick succession followed by a mountain-top finish after 172.8km of racing on stage 14. 


Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 13: Sarria to Ponferrada, 158.2km

1. Michael Albasini (Swi) HTC-Highroad in 4-19-39

2. Eros Capecchi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

3. Daniel Moreno (Spa) Katusha

4. David De La Fuente (Spa) Geox-TMC

5. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Ag2r-La Mondiale

6. Oliver Zaugg (Swi) Leopard-Trek

7. Angel Madrazo (Spa) Movistar

8. David Blanco (Spa) Geox-TMC

9. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi

10. Marc De Maar (Ned Ant) Quick Step all same time


26. Bradley Wiggins (GB) Sky at 1-33

37. Chris Froome (GB) Sky at 1-33

Overall classification after stage 13

1. Bradley Wiggins (GB) Sky in 51-14-59

2. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 4 secs

3. Chris Froome (GB) Sky at 7 secs

4. Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe) Astana at 9 secs

5. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Leopard-Trek at 19 secs

6. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Rabobank at 36 secs

7. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Leopard-Trek at 1-04

8. Juan Jose Cobo (Spa) Geox-TMC at 1-27

9. Daniel Moreno (Spa) Katusha at 1-52

10. Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Radioshack at 1-53


14. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Ag2r La Mondiale at 2-15

23. Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Cervelo at 4-44

Nicolas Roche in escape, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 13

Nicolas Roche at the head of the escape group

Dario Cioni for Sky, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 13

Sky head the peloton

Bradley Wiggins, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 13

Bradley Wiggins kept his race lead

Bradley Wiggins, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 13

Bradley Wiggins is just four seconds ahead of Vincenzo Nibali overall

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Related links

Wiggins says he will give it 100 per cent to defend Vuelta lead

Vuelta tackles unknown mountain top finish today

Froome: "This lead is a big milestone"

Wiggins in Vuelta: "We're in an amazing position"

Dan Martin delighted with King of the Mountains jersey

Sky dominates in Vuelta a Espana

Martin delighted with first ever grand tour stage win

Wiggins: A fantastic finish

Interview: Wiggins looks ahead of crucial three days of Vuelta

Farrar taken to hospital after Vuelta crash

Arvesen quits Vuelta with crash injuries

Anton suffers again but Rodriguez becomes Spain's top contender

Wiggins pleased with strong ride in Spanish sierras

Cavendish abandons Vuelta a Espana

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Teams, riders, start list

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Who's riding?

Vuelta a Espana 2011 team list

Vuelta a Espana 2011

: Stage reports

Stage 12: Sagan takes second 2011 Vuelta stage win

Stage 11: Wiggins takes overall lead as Moncoutie wins stage

Stage 10: Brit Froome moves into overall Vuelta lead after time trial

Stage nine: Martin wins as Wiggins moves further up GC

Stage eight: Rodriguez wins again to take overall lead

Stage seven: Kittel wins chaotic bunch sprint

Stage six: Sagan takes Vuelta stage win in controversial circumstances

Stage five: Rodriguez takes second win for Katusha but Chavanel holds on

Stage four: Moreno wins first mountain skirmish at Sierra Nevada

Stage three: Lastras solos to stage and takes red jersey

Stage two: Sutton grabs stage win to set things right for Sky

Stage one: Leopard-Trek win opening TTT to put Fuglsang in front

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Photo galleries

By Graham Watson

Stage 12 photo gallery

Stage 11 photo gallery

Stage 10 photo gallery

Stage nine photo gallery

Stage eight photo gallery

Stage seven photo gallery

Stage six photo gallery

Stage five photo gallery

Stage four photo gallery

Stage three photo gallery

Stage two photo gallery

Stage one photo gallery

Vuelta a Espana 2011: TV guide

Vuelta a Espana 2011: ITV4 TV schedule

Vuelta a Espana 2011: British Eurosport TV schedule

ITV to show 2011 Vuelta


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.