Britain on top in Paracycling Track Worlds

Great Britain finished at the top of the medal table at the weekend’s Paracycling Track World Championships in Italy after winning a total of 18 medals – nine of them gold.

Darren Kenny won three golds, in the men’s C3 individual pursuit, men’s C3 kilometre time trial and as part of the mixed team spring alongside Jody Cundy and Tel Byrne.

Cundy himself won two golds: the aforementioned mixed team sprint and in the C4 kilometre time trial. Cundy also claimed silver in the men’s C4 individual pursuit.

Britain’s other gold medals came courtesy of Neil Fashie and pilot Craig Maclean (men’s tandem kilometre time trial and men’s B sprint), Jon-Allan Butterworth (men’s C5 kilometre time trial) and Sarah Storey (women’s C5 individual pursuit and women’s C5 500m time trial).

The result shows that the Great Britain squad is heading towards the 2012 Paralympic Games in London in great form.

“Performances from this weekend are a massive boost for the team, gaining us vital qualification points towards places in London,” said GB lead coach Chris Furber.

“The standard of the competition has really moved on since Beijing and being in a medal mix now means we are well placed for medal prospects in 2012.”

Paracycling Track World Championships 2011: Great Britain’s medals
Men’s C3 Individual Pursuit – Darren Kenny
Men’s Tandem Kilo – Neil Fachie, piloted by Craig Maclean
Men’s C3 Kilo – Darren Kenny
Men’s C4 Kilo – Jody Cundy
Men’s C5 Kilo – Jon-Allan Butterworth
Women’s C5 Individual Pursuit – Sarah Storey
Men’s B Sprint – Fachie, piloted by Maclean
Women’s C5 500mTT – Sarah Storey
Mixed Team Sprint – Byrne, Cundy, Kenny

Men’s C3 Individual Pursuit – Shaun McKeown
Men’s C4 Individual Pursuit – Jody Cundy
Women’s Tandem Kilo – Aileen McGlynn, piloted by Helen Scott
Men’s Tandem Kilo – Anthony Kappes, piloted by Barney Storey
Men’s C3 Kilo – Rik Waddon
Men’s C4 Kilo – Tel Byrne
Men’s B Sprint – Kappes, piloted by Storey
Women’s B 3km Pursuit – Lora Turnham, piloted by Fiona Duncan

Men’s C3 Individual Pursuit – Rik Waddon

Related links

Team GB seek medal haul at 2011 Paracycling Track World Championships