British World Champs team announced

Mark Cavendish in press conference, Tour of Britain 2011, press conference/warm-up

British Cycling has announced the list of riders who will be representing Great Britain at the UCI 2011 Road World Championships in Copenhagen next week.

Mark Cavendish will be bidding for the elite men's road race title and is backed up by a solid team of seven riders that includes 2011 Vuelta a Espana podium finishers Chris Froome and Bradley Wiggins. Wiggins also joins David Millar in the men's time trial.

The women's road race team is particularly strong, including Lizzie Armitstead, former World Champion Nicole Cooke and Emma Pooley. Pooley defends her world title in the women's time trial as Britain's only representative.

Britain's under-23 and junior teams also include several riders with a serious medal prospect, rounding off what has to be Britain's strongest Worlds line-up for many years.

The 2011 UCI Road World Championships take place in Copenhagen, Denmark, over September 19-25, 2011. 

Elite men's road race

Mark Cavendish

Steve Cummings

Chris Froome

Jeremy Hunt

David Millar

Ian Stannard

Geraint Thomas

Bradley Wiggins

Elite men's time trial

David Millar

Bradley Wiggins

Elite women's road race

Lizzie Armitstead

Katie Colclough

Nicole Cooke

Catherine Williamson

Sharon Laws

Lucy Martin

Emma Pooley

Elite women's time trial

Emma Pooley

Julia Shaw (late addition to squad)

U23 men's road race

Mark Christian

Andrew Fenn

Luke Rowe

Erick Rowsell

Scott Thwaites

Simon Yates

U23 men's time trial

Mark Christian

Junior men's road race

Owain Doull

Jon Dibben

Matthew Holmes

Sam Lowe

Alistair Slater

Junior men's time trial

Owain Doull

Jon Dibben

Junior women's road race

Elinor Baker

Hannah Barnes

Lucy Garner

Amy Roberts

Junior women's time trial

Elinor Barker

Hannah Barnes

Related links

Road World Championships 2011: Cycling Weekly's coverage index


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1